Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

‘Tis the season

I’ve noticed a couple “resolution lists” around the ole blogosphere, both WoW-related and not, so I figured I’d jump in.  I’m really not a big one for resolutions; I get the symbolism of a new year’s beginning just fine, but don’t feel one particular day of the year is necessary to make a decision to change.  That being said, I have been thinking about some WoW goals lately, and this is a good time to put them down on (virtual) paper.

Content goals – as in, “How did I get so far behind?”

  1. Earthwarden (need CE rep)
  2. 5,000 gold for epic flying skill
  3. Complete Epic Flight Form questline
  4. Full Kara run
  5. Full Gruul’s Lair run
  6. Venture into Serpentshrine Cavern
  7. Pay more attention to gear enchantments

WoW Goals

  1. Find a new, great guild
  2. Re-build my UI from the ground up and document it on the blog in an understandable series

Blogging Goals

  1. Move to self-hosting.  There are just too many things I want to do with the blog that I can’t on a free WP blog.  I’ll be sticking with WordPress (great software), but moving to my own hoster. 
  2. Provide relevant content to non-feral Druids.  I have a couple ideas here, but one hope is to integrate all the great gear suggestions out there into one, easy to use location. 
  3. Improve the look of the site.

Life Goals

  1. Finish play-testing on the card game I’ve designed.  (Yes, I plan on publishing it and Yes, you will ALL be buying it…  ;-) )
  2. Plan a 10 year anniversary trip to Maine and Vermont (my wife has always wanted to go)
  3. Buy a new car

That’s it for me.  Tag – you’re it!!!

Forms Bar

January 2, 2008 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

17 Comments »

  1. On the CE rep since I just hit 60. I learned that if you wait on doing the Hellfire quests and Zangermarsh quests. You can turn in unidentified plant parts(you get around 250 rep for each turn in) until you are Honored and then start doing the quests it allows you to maximise rep. Just a thought for people entering outlands.

    Comment by chris | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Good advice for folks just entering Outland Chris. Unfortunately, I read the CE faction writeup on Wowhead a little too late and jumped the gun on completing my quests. So I’m really looking at Steamvaults runs as my only primary way of generating CE rep.

    Comment by Amanna | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Nice list! You can transfer to Detheroc and join my guild! ;)

    Comment by Mooire | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Well, if you’re Horde and on a PvP server, you can. :D

    Comment by Mooire | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. […] introspection on 2007 (and forward looking into 2008), I invite you to visit Kestrel’s Aerie, Adventures in Azeroth, Out of Mana, Ferocious Bite, The Holy Light, and, of course, World of […]

    Pingback by Resto4Life» Blog Archive » Resto4Life … or at least 2007 | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. If you need any help or tips on moving the blog to it’s own server, just throw me a line, would be glad to help, I may be a WoW noobie but I’ve worked with wordpress, mysql and servers for years.

    Comment by Curbob | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Curbob – I think I have it figured out but do still have some questions. If you leave me a comment via my contact page, then we could E-Mail “offline”. If others are interested, I would certainly share all lessons learned, tips, tricks, etc. once completed.

    Comment by NEOinc | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. Sorry, make that the About page.

    Comment by Amanna | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. I just received Honored with CE. From Nuetral it took around 350 plant parts for any one interested. I’m now broke as a joke.

    Comment by chris | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  10. If you’re looking for self hosting, might I recomend http://www.nearlyfreespeech.net. I use ‘em, and have been very happy with their service for my site. Feel free to drop me a line with any questions.

    Comment by TrueVox | January 12, 2008 | Reply

  11. i use bluehost for my hosting, not too difficult to sort out.

    btw… you’re still alive… arent you? ;)

    Comment by Marylin | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  12. Yes – I’m still here, thanks Marylin.

    Just sorting out the hosting. I was actually on bluehost previously for something else, and have been playing around with getting WordPress installed and getting a domain. Bluehost isn’t exactly straightforward when it comes to adding a second domain.

    Also, haven’t been playing Amanna much since quitting the guild. I’ve been having some fun with alts (warlock, shaman and mage) and getting ready to go through the process of the custom UI series I want to write.

    So – still alive and hopefully you’ll see me back and active soon.
    :-)

    Comment by Amanna | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  13. gotta love alts… I have way too many though!

    Comment by Marylin | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  14. Hi there, I know this is an old post but I’m a new reader so if you do the mathifications as Ratshag calls it, they cancel each other out so it’s a wash. ANYway, I’m intrigued by your goal to move to self-hosted WordPress because I’ve been considering it myself. It’s probably off topic for your blog, but if you are able to, it’d be really great if you post a “how to” list or a “things to avoid” list as a cheat sheet for the rest of us. Because, of course, it’s all about me… =)

    Comment by Game Dame | January 16, 2008 | Reply

  15. Game Dame – good suggestion and I was indeed planning on posting some “lessons learned” as they call it.

    I spent some time yesterday doing some initial setup and yes, there are already some things that I learned that are good to share.

    So, it might not be right away, but I do plan on posting stuff.

    Thanks for reading.

    Comment by Amanna | January 16, 2008 | Reply

  16. […] I got a comment from Game Dame on my WoW Resolutions list.  Seems The Dame is interested in my experiences transferring my blog from WordPress-hosted to […]

    Pingback by DIY Wordpress « Adventures in Azeroth | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  17. […] got a comment from Game Dame on my WoW Resolutions list.  Seems The Dame is interested in my experiences transferring my blog from WordPress-hosted to […]

    Pingback by DIY Wordpress | Adventures in Azeroth | January 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

