Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Amanna runs her own primary

I’ve been playing around with various themes for my new, self-hosted blog.  Long story short, I’m having a hard time making a decision.  Some many themes, so little time…

Not really.  There are literally hundreds of WordPress themes to choose from, but by the time you weed out the goofy looking ones, pick the ones that have the colors you want and the number of columns you want, you end up with a much smaller number to choose from.

 Well, I’ve narrowed my list down to two I really like.  I’m having a hard time deciding on one, so I thought I’d ask you.  Here’s a link to two screenshots on Flickr.  Take a look and tell me:

  • I really like blog theme “A”
  • I really like blog theme “B”, or
  • I don’t really like either of them

Be honest, that’s what I pay you for.  The easiest way I think to see them is to click the “View as a slideshow” link, otherwise the thumbnails are too small to get a good idea. 

Please leave your comments here, not on Flickr.

Thanks!

EDIT – Okay, I’m obviously still learning the ins and outs of Flickr.  I typed in titles for both of the screenshots, but looking at the set now as you see it (with me logged out of my Flickr account), I don’t see the titles anywhere.  So when you leave your comment, just tell me whether you like the blue one or the green one (or neither!).  And if anyone has found a good guide to using Flickr I’d love the link.  I hope to be sharing a lot of screenshots with you all very soon, and based on this experience, I feel I’m either doing this the wrong way, or Flickr isn’t my best option.

Forms Bar
January 17, 2008 - Posted by | Wordpress

12 Comments »

  1. I really like blog theme “B”

    Comment by Steve | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. The green one seems more lively. The blue one says “I’m a FAQ hosted at microsoft.com. All personality must be eliminated”

    Comment by nibuca | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. The A one seems more natural based on the heading and the colors. You could go for a blue theme since that inspires a sense of professionalism and business. I think it depends on the kind of personality you’re looking to convey on your blog.

    To me, A sounds like “natural, down to earth, homey” kind of feel.

    B feels like a “professional, knowledgeable” kind of look.

    Both are solid choices. If it were me and I was writing about WoW, I would lean towards A after some tweaking.

    Comment by Matticus | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. I kinda like the green on…seems easier on the eyes…but thats just me

    Comment by bunnyfer | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Neither is unattractive. I like the colors in B more, but I think the layout in A is a little easier to read so it’s getting my vote. You will never come up with a color scheme that 100% of your readers love, but you can very easily come up with a navigation scheme that 100% of your readers absolutely dispise.

    Comment by Sorosst | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. My vote is for green. The color palette incorporates several “natural” colors that I think would complement a Druid site well.

    Comment by Phaelia | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  7. I really like blog theme A

    Comment by Curbob | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  8. I love the green one! It’s beautiful and a bit different from the usual blue we see all over Blogger and WordPress. (Why are so many blogs blue? Even mine is blue! ZOMG!)

    Comment by Game Dame | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  9. Layout-wise, I prefer the green one. Color-wise, well… I tend to prefer blue to green in general, but it does look a bit Microsoft-ish, and as Phaelia mentioned, green = natural = Druid.

    My official vote is for the green one.

    Comment by Nasirah | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  10. I think A is the better choice… it’s easier on the eye layout-wise and more druidy with the green theme than the blue. there’s not much natural about blue is there?

    there are many ways you can tweak your theme once you have it too so good luck! :)

    Comment by Softi | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  11. I like the blue one.

    Comment by Flaime | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  12. I like the green one!! Oh and I’m glad you’re back to posting!

    Comment by Slipslappy | January 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

