Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Don’t work if you don’t have to

I’ve wrote previously on factors you should take into consideration if you are looking to move your WordPress blog to self-hosting.  One of the general themes was that it was up to you to take care of all the technical support of your installation, including backups, plugins and upgrades.

After spending the prior week cruising WordPress for information concerning how to upgrade, printing it all out, taking a backup and nervously going through the update, I was able to successfully perform an update. 

Well, I thought I did.  The “you need to upgrade” notice that displayed on my WordPress admin panel went away, but the next time I logged into my hoster and looked at my websites, there was a message there that said I still needed to upgrade.  The good news is that the message was hotlinked, and when I clicked it, it took me to the Fantastico panel. 

Turns out Fantastico on my hoster will not only do an initial install of WordPress, but will do upgrades as well.  Of course, there are qualifications.  If you’ve done any local editing of plugins or themes, etc. then they will be lost during the upgrade.  But if you haven’t, then your WordPress upgrade is but a single click away.  It worked fine for me.

I’ve also found out that there are plugins to handle the backup issue.  One in particular I’ve seen mentioned a couple different locations, so I plan on giving it a try (full disclosure: I haven’t tried it yet).  WP-DB-Backup is a plugin that will perform a daily database backup and mail the backup file to an E-Mail address you specify.  It’s automated, and with the generous space allocations on many of the free E-Mail accounts these days, you should be able to keep quite a few copies.

Forms Bar
January 25, 2008 - Posted by | Wordpress

2 Comments »

  1. That backup plugin is a god send. Files are mailed to you gzipped. Mine take up about 550 KB right now and I get it done on a daily basis. After about a week, I delete the older ones.

    Comment by Matticus | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. that’s a dream:)

    Comment by merlecy | January 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

