Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Fatal error importing WordPress-hosted to Self-hosted: Resolved!

For a few days now, I’ve been trying to import my current WordPress-hosted blog into my new self-hosted blog.  I wanted to see what it looked like with some real posts in it, and I also just wanted an opportunity to clean some things up before I put out the red carpet.  Plus, I noticed I was spending way too much time trying to figure out every last aspect of what I need to do before I moved, and I finally just realized that I should just do it and clean up whatever needs cleaned up after the fact. 

The process itself is pretty easy.  In your WordPress-hosted blog (blog ends in wordpress.com), log in as admin.  Go to Manage / Export and click the button to save your file.  Pretty simple.  There is an option to only save posts from a particular author, but you probably just want to save all.

From there you go to your new self-hosted blog, log into your dashboard, go to Manage / Import and click the WordPress filetype.  Select the file you previously saved, click the Upload button and your new blog will suck in your old file.

At least that’s how it’s supposed to work.  I kept getting an error message something like:

Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate xxxxx bytes)

I did find a number of support posts on the WordPress support forums on the topic.  Many had similar responses and some indicated that the responses fixed their problem.  I’m not knocking WordPress support here, but the fixes in the forums did not fix my problem.   I ended up just doing a simple Google search on the issue and found this post

Long story short – that fixed my problem and my import worked.  I followed the instructions more or less to the letter, except when 4 or 5 increments of 4M with the same error got a little tedious, I just entered 48M for both and that worked. 

I know this isn’t World of Warcraft-related, but I’m posting to help anyone else out there trying to make the move to self-hosting and getting frustrated on this error.  I hope this helps!

January 28, 2008 - Posted by | Wordpress

3 Comments »

  1. liang cha

    Comment by sell www gold | March 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. s

    Comment by sell www gold us | March 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. 456

    Comment by sell wow gold us | March 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

