Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Brother, can you spare a dime?

So with this post I officially start my unofficial series on “Why making lvl 60 doesn’t fix everything”.  This first post deals with the harshness of economics and asks the question – at level 60 why aren’t we given unlimited gold???

Back when I was in my high 20’s and 30’s, the goal was always the same – save up 100G to buy a mount at level 40.  Of course, you can’t save everything you get; you’ve got repair bills, better equipment to buy, and so on.  Those expenses notwithstanding, your first mount is really your goal.

I did pretty good on this first gold goal.  I didn’t end up with much over 100 gold at level 40, but was right on.  Being an herbalist, I regularly did underwater runs north up the coast from Menethil Harbor.  It was pretty easy to get a stack of stranglekelp (especially as a Druid – didn’t have to come up for air).  At the time a stack went for around 2-3 gold at the auction house, which was pretty good money at that level.  The only downside was those pesky murlocs.

However, I dreamed of the day when I was level 60 and gold would be readily available.  Trash mobs would drop it like candy from a pinata and every BoE item I could sell would net a small fortune.

Right!

You know what the reality is.  Repair bills get higher, and there is always something to spend your money on.  Even with the gold xp bonus I’m only around 130G.  When I hit 60 I think I only had around 80G.  Of course, spending 130G on a Staff of Hale Magefire didn’t help the situation (hey – it was a steal at that price!).

So, it’s only now, a month or so after 60, that I find my bank account creeping upwards.  A couple of things I’ve found out:

  • Your gathering skills do start to pay off better at this level.  Whereas I was getting 2G or so for a stack of Stranglekelp, a stack of Dreamfoil easily nets me 15G plus or minus and doesn’t take that long to pick up.  I’ve also had the good fortune to find 2 Black Lotus in my travels over the last week.  I haven’t gotten them sold yet, but Auctioneer tells me they go for around 15-17G on their own!
  • The xp to gold conversion post 60 only applies to quest rewards, not mob kills.  I never saw that explicitly stated in the Blizzard announcement on the change.  So while I was thinking I was going to get money for everything I killed after level 60, that simply isn’t the case – it’s only for turning in quests.  You then get gold instead of quest xp.  It’s not all bad though as I’ve found the gold reward ranges around 2-6G, depending on the quest.
  • It still seems you have to get into the higher instances to get the money-making drops.  I don’t find drops to be any more frequent in the higher level zones, nor do I find them to be better quality.  While the level of the items has gone up, they just don’t have the stats to make them worth that much more at the auction house. 
  • Decide on a gear configuration and work towards that.  Check the forums, search the blogs, etc. to get ideas.  If you simply scan the auction house every time you are in town, then the temptation to buy the latest cool piece of equipment can become to great to resist.  Also, if you are an active instance runner, keep in mind that you will generally find better equipment in the instances anyway.  I like the attribute bumps I get from my staff, but if I had really thought it through, I probably would have researched a one-handed weapon to leave a slot open for an off-hand item.  It doesn’t have to be written in stone, but having a gear plan can help a lot.

So, all in all I like being level 60.   All your hard work has paid off and you made it.  But it comes with it’s own set of challenges that I’m only now starting to appreciate.

Next in this series: “Rep Farming: The Endless Quest”.

November 27, 2006 - Posted by | Druid Gear, World of Warcraft |

1 Comment »

  1. Great website, nice tips, thanks for sharing

    Comment by Birthday Gift Club | August 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

