Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

The thrill is back!

So just one day after writing about how post-60 life seems to be all about gring rep and not that much fun, I have a great night in Blackrock Depths.

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you know that I used Jame’s Alliance levelling guides to get to 60.  They are great guides and if you don’t know about them you should check them out (they’re on my links page).  I wouldn’t call it a downside to the guides, but it is something to keep in mind, is they are primarily oriented around making your levels solo.  There are a couple times that Jame’s recommends venturing into an instance for some quick xp, but he always has a solo alternative.  So I’ve digressed here to explain why I’m level 60, but still have a boatload of BRD and UBRS quests. 

It’s been a while since I have been able to get to any of these quests.  First, I’ve have been concentrating my efforts down in Silithus as I’m trying to get my rep up with Cenarion Circle and the Brood for some gear rewards.  Plus, while I don’t belong to an “uber-guild”, most of them are well past BRD and on to Ony and AQ20.  But I’ve been wanting to continue down this quest chain so I can join folks in Ony runs so I had in mind a solid night of BRD sometime soon.

So with the wife away at a party and nothing else to do Friday night, I logged on around 7 and sent out some feelers for a group in guild chat.  Pretty soon I had a good solid group ready to go.  The other bonus is we were almost all level 60’s.  I know some folks like the challenge of taking on an instance run that just out of there league to see if they can do it.  Personally, that’s not my reward structure.  I like successful runs and a variety of runs – so to hit BRD with a group of 60’s was perfect as far as I was concerned.

So, we headed in and as the title of this post says – I had a great time!  4 hours flew by and we were able to get me through Jail break! and picked up Stormwind Rendezvous.  So while in my previous post I was implying that xp and levelling was the only thing that kept the game interesting, I guess that’s not the case.  And I don’t think it’s as simple as just seeing new sites – I’ve been in BRD before.

I’m sure it’s different for everyone, but I think for me it’s a sense of accomplishment.  Simply grinding on Twilight Cultists for a few points of rep here and there doesn’t seem like a whole lot of accomplishment.  But completing a couple hard quests and taking a few more steps toward being able to join my guild on the next Onyxia run – now that feels like moving forward. 

Even better – almost everything that dropped was something I could use.  With no other druids in the group, and an already well-equipped warrior as our main offensive character, I was free to take the two main drops: Force of Will and Force of Magma.  Also got Ward of the Elements as one of the quest turn in rewards for Jail Break!  Trinkets – shiny trinkets!  They were well received as all I had before was stuff that wasn’t very helpful.  These were equipped quickly.

So it was great to have a fun night again playing.  I think I’m going to stop worrying so much about gear and faction rewards and just go back to having fun and doing quests.  That’s what I bought the game for and never took it too seriously. 

December 2, 2006 - Posted by | Druid Gear, World of Warcraft |

1 Comment »

  1. i like football

    Comment by shaun | September 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

