Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Bartender 3 with multiple characters

I just ran into a Bartender 3 issue that I didn’t cover in my previous post that you need to be aware of if you plan on setting it up on one account for multiple characters.

There is a profile system in BT3 just like many mods.  I just realized this last night as I had played my Hunter alt over the weekend and layed out his action bars via BT3.  Well, when I logged into Amanna, my Druid main last night, some of my action bars were all re-arranged.  Obviously, the changes I had made on behalf of Mangle had impacted Amanna.

There is a profile option on the BT3 menu.  If you’re using the mini-map button, just right-click on the button to get the big, vertical menu.  Down almost to the bottom you’ll see the profile option.  I played around with it last night and couldn’t quite get the hang of it.  Most mods I use that have a profile option, let you just save the current configuration as a named profile and assign it to the current character.  At least at first blush, that didn’t seem to be how BT3’s profile system worked.  The only way I could get Amanna’s bars back to the way I had them setup, was to select the “default” profile. 

I’ll play around with this and try to figure it out.  If anyone out there is using BT3 and has the profile system down, then please share with us how it works and what we need to do to support different configurations for different characters.

February 6, 2007 - Posted by | Interface Add-ons, Must have addons, World of Warcraft

6 Comments »

  1. if your finding the mod not importing your other chars bartender preset properly, it may be because you have CTBar or CTbottombar running on the other char, i turn them both off and just run with the other CT mods, as the two mentioned above will screw up profile imports from another char. Even then i think it still didnt get it perfect, 80% of the bar setup was right, I think an update is required.

    Comment by ancient | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Any updates on this? How exactly do you save for each char?? Thanks so much!!

    Comment by Wulfy | April 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. Wulfy – I have not been able to figure this out.

    Comment by Amanna | April 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. I had the same problem. Bartender has several options under the ‘Profile’ option: Choose, and Copy From.

    The problem is that you started setting up the bars and such while the Default profile was selected under “Choose”. The same for when you set up your Druid’s bars. So that’s why the bars were always rearranged when you logged onto the other character; both characters are using the exact same profile.

    The way I solved this, is by selecting a profile prior to arranging the bars. Go to Profile –> Choose, and you’ll see an option to select your current character-server (For example, Huntername , Magtheridon). Set up your bars and logout. Your character named Huntername is now using a profile with the same name. Now if you go to your Druid, go to Profile–>Choose and select Druidname, Current Server as your profile. Set up your bars there and done.

    If you’d go to Profile–>Copy From, you could actually copy the setup that Huntername , Magtheridon is using. (Which you didn’t want to do, I think).

    If you’d have a 3rd character, then this one could Copy From either Huntername, or Druidname.

    I hope this helped.

    Comment by Feindflug | April 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey, my hotkeys for actionbar 2-10 aren’t working, I dunno why this is, I don’t have anything that should interfere with it.

    Comment by Dresira | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. Dresira – mod debugging via comments/E-Mail is notoriously hard, but the first place I’d look is in your Keybindings setup via the WoW game menu (escape key, then keybindings).

    Scroll down to the area where the Bartender3 bindings are and make sure they are setup the way you intended. Remember – you’re looking for the Bartender3 Action Bar keybindings, NOT the Blizzard default keybindings.

    This has been the source of any problems I’ve ever had in this area with Bartender (and that hasn’t been many).

    Comment by Amanna | January 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

