Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Aldor? Scryer? Does it really matter???

Shattrath City

 *** Please Note: My site has moved to nedruid.com.***   While I will keep this site running for a while, eventually it will be turned off.  Please update your bookmarks to point to the new site.  If you are the admin for a forum, board or website that links to this site or article(s) on this site, please consider updating your link(s).  Simply removing “wordpress” from the domain name should do the trick; i.e. nedruid.wordpress.com/post_url would become nedruid.com/post_url. 

I’m almost to level 64 and have finished up a good number of the quests around Orebar Harborage.  I had  been looking for a change of scenery, so a couple nights back I ventured over to the Allerian Stronghold.  From there, it was a quick ride to Shattrath City.  And once inside Shattrath I quickly ran into what seems to be the question of the expansion: Aldor or Scryer?

Even before the end of beta, there were reports and articles far and wide discussing the issue.  I’ve long since had a post linking to the wowwiki comparison page.  It does nothing more than link to the wowwiki page, and it’s hits are slowly decreasing, probably as folks level up and make their faction decisions, but it still gets a fair number of hits.  To be honest, I took a quick look at the overview when I posted it, but didn’t really dig too deep as I knew it would be a while before I would need to make that choice.

So now that I had ventured into Shattrath City, I figured it was time for me to figure out which side my allegiance should lie.  I blocked out a couple hours on my calendar, made a fresh pot of coffee, put on some Ted Nugent (why does Cat Scratch Fever always pop into my head when I read or type Shattrath City?), and settled in for what I assumed would be some serious decision-making.

You know what I think?  I think it really doesn’t matter all that much which one you choose.

I know, I know – you stats junkies out there will scream about how the different factions offer bonuses to different attributes, and I should pay more attention.  By my own admission, I’m a somewhat casual player at a couple hours at night during the week and one extended session per weekend.  I don’t know the effects and nuances of every attribute off the top of my head.  Nor have I internalized all the formulas for computed attributes that are based on other attributes.  When I’m evaluating a piece of equipment, I rely on the Tankpoints and Healpoints calculators, fellow guild members, and a fair amount of gut instinct.  That being said, my goal isn’t to have the “perfect” configuration, it’s to have fun.  If you’re looking at two good pieces of gear, I really don’t think you can make a “wrong” decision – I think each piece of gear will help you in different ways.  Obviously, some gear is better or even required for certain encounters, but that is just common sense.

Also, I’m a pure gatherer – herbalism and skinning.  So crafting recipies don’t figure into my evaluation and maybe they do for you.

So I took another look.  I still don’t think it matters all that much. 

I see things like the Aldor healing inscription available at lvl 64 and Honored adding up to 29 healing to a shoulder slot and the comparable Scryer inscription adding 5 mana per 5.  Okay, I can see a difference there between straight healing per spell help good in the short term versus the mana regeneration good for longer combats.  But at level 70 and exalted, those differences start to fade with the Aldor inscription adding 33 healing and 5 mp5 and the Scryer adding 22 healing and 6 mp5.  That’s just not a whole lot for me to get excited about.

Bear form tank – Aldor offers dodge at honored and throws in some defense at Exalted.  Scryer offers defense at honored and throws in dodge at exalted. 

Cat form DPS – Aldor offers an increase of attack power at honored and adds a plus to critical strike at exalted.  Guess what?  Scryer offers critical strike at honored and adds attack power at exalted.  /yawn

UPDATE: In putting together the bear and cat gear list, one of the recommended rings for cat form, Overseer’s Signet, is only available to Aldors.

From my perspective, I really only see one decision point, and that is the two staves offered: 

  1. If your thing is healing and you’re looking for a huge +healing bump, then check out the Scryer Seer’s Cane.  With +228 to healing and 10 mana per 5 second, this could make the decision for you.
  2. If you’re a Moonkin or a Druid that likes to blast away at stuff, then the competing Aldor staff, the Auchenai Staff may be what you’re looking for.  Spell hit rating +19, spell critical strike +26 and increase to spell healing and damage effects of 121.  Noice!

Like I said, I’m not a crafter, but if I was I would also be taking the following into consideration:

  1. If I was an alchemist and absolutely had to have every recipie, then I would go Scryer.  They have the only recipie offered: Elixir of Major Firepower
  2. Each faction has one armor kit for the leatherworking profession.  These are quite different with the Aldor’s being a plus to defense and the Scryer’s a mana regeneration bonus.
  3.  Also be aware that all the other crafted items are bind on pickup, not bind on equip.

And that’s about it, at least for me.  Yea, “what about all the other stuff?  That’s it??!!??”.  Yes – that’s it.  For every attack power/critical strike/defense on one side there’s something roughly comparable on the other.   So unless you see something specific that you absolutely have to have, I again assert it doesn’t really matter too much.

I urge you all to check out the wowwiki.com article and make your own decision.  For once you make the decision, odds are you won’t be turning back as you’ll soon be Hated by the opposing faction (every quest turn-in that gives you a bump to the rep of your faction choice, also lowers your rep with the opposing faction).  I don’t know about you, but rep grinding is not on my list of “fun WoW things to do”.  At the top of the article is a nice table outlining some of the major difference from the wiki community’s perspective.

So, what did I decide?

As I said, I’m not a crafter – so the Alchemy and crafting recipies don’t sway me.  The inscriptions are so similar at Exalted that I’m not factoring them in either.  So that only leaves equipment for me.  Since most of the equipment in Outland seems to be such a higher level of quality so far, I’m looking for something that is head and shoulders above anything else.  Looking at my options, I have to say the Scryer’s Seer’s Cane looks like such a great staff for my general casting form.  I know as I start raiding again with my guild, I’ll start healing more.  And as if the +228 to healing isn’t enough, the +10 mp5 is awesome.  With all the great feral staves available other places in Outland, I don’t feel bad focusing on a healing staff here.  If I had any doubts from looking at other gear, I’m drawn to the Retainer’s Leggings for my cat form.  That +92 to attack power looks pretty sweet.

So there you have it.  I’m a Scryer-lover.  And it really wasn’t that hard to decide!  Let me know which way you go, and why in comments.  Maybe I missed something.

February 14, 2007 - Posted by | Burning Crusade, Druid Gear, Factions, World of Warcraft

18 Comments »

  1. Hi, I went with aldor for my hunter and scryer for my druid. I also was torn at first, because both factions have good rewards, and honestly I chose each side based on a little bit of the wowwiki information and other websites/forums I read on the subject…so I used other people’s opinions to help make my decision. Good, bad or whatever 😛

    Comment by Sean | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Sean – thanks for the comments. I was beginning to wonder if there was anyone out there.

    Like I said – I don’t think there is a “wrong” decision on the issue. You may regret your decision, but with all the gear available from other factions, AH, instances, etc. there’s always a way to fill in whatever hole you think you created for yourself.

    Comment by Amanna | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. This page was a great help in picking sides. Thanks for taking the time to put it together. -=)

    Comment by Lynchiln | March 4, 2007 | Reply

  4. I am in the same boat as you with the same profs- herb/skinning. I found Scryers to be a good match with melee/dps Horde classes due to the rewards and some of the armor.

    Hope you make he right choice

    Comment by Bochi | April 7, 2007 | Reply

  5. this was very intresting to read at school thanks for puting up the time to givev everyone a understanding of sryer vs aldor i myself picked scryer on my pally

    Comment by rob | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. I made the decision recently to go Aldor for my Hunter, because of the following:

    – Rep reward: [Lightwarden’s Band] at Revered
    – Token+Rep rewards: [Inscription of Vengeance] at Honored and [Greater Inscription of Vengeance] at Exhalted

    The “comparable” (Same tier) items from the Scryers are caster items and +Healing/+Defence, which didn’t seem (Especially) relevant to my class.

    So I’m guessing the answer is that it depends on both your class and playstyle (Any Hunters out there value defence over AP?) But ultimately I agree that the choice isn’t *that* hard and you don’t need to fret too much over it. I mostly looked at the official reward list:

    http://www.wow-europe.com/en/info/basics/factions/shattrath/aldor-scryers.html

    And a glanced over the WoWWiki article.

    Comment by wowpeon | April 20, 2007 | Reply

  7. I made the decision to go with Scryer because of the following:

    – If I fell off the tier, I wouldn’t die

    Oh also:

    – I’m an alchemist, and that’s the only other thing that was significantly different to me

    Comment by PeeDub | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  8. One thing that people need to know – the only Master Enchanter Trainer outside of Uldaman is a Scryer!

    Very important if you are not at lvl 300 yet and still need that trainer.

    I never knew this and went with the Aldor – so back to Uldaman and those damn scorpions 😥

    Comment by monkeyhouse | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. `monkeyhouse I don’t think that is true. If I am not mistaken there is a Master enchanter at honor hold. Can’t remember exactly where but he is at the top of a tower. I may be wrong if I am sorry. But maybe it is something you would check out. Alot better than Uldaman!

    Comment by Cabrella | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  10. Cabrella, you are correct. There are grand master enchanters at both Thrallmar & Honor Hold. No need to head back to Uldaman just for training!

    Comment by Kim | September 3, 2007 | Reply

  11. I enjoyed reading your article on this subject. I have two friends who are Feral Druids-one went Scryer, the other went Aldor. I agree it probably doesn’t matter much which you go with, however my husband plays a Demonology Warlock and I wish to be part of the same faction he goes with so we are not in each other’s “hated” zones! He thought Scryer would have better stuff, and his toon is also an Alchemist, so I think we will both go Scryer for that reason. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this article! Casual WoWers ahoy!

    Comment by Lilithwolf | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  12. I cant rememeber where it is but if you type Aldor Vs Scryes in on google there is a website that allows you to enter your spec and then it will tell you in percntage which is better for you.

    As a fire mage i was 33% match for Scryers and about a 15% match for Aldor

    Comment by majesti | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  13. One thing to consider as a leatherworker is that the gear you can make from Scryer is arcane resist, while Aldor is fire resist. Not a huge deal since the gear is BOE. But that being said, you can get good FR gear from doing heroics.

    http://wow.gameamp.com/wow/viewResistances/0.php!tab=leather&resistance=fire#startContent

    Shouldn’t make a big difference in your choice, and I’m unsure if its worth spending heroics on this gear as I’m only 64 and just made the choice of Scryer myself. (Druid)

    Comment by Thanatas | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  14. One good thing about going Scryer is that it is very easy to grind for reputation and gold near Black Temple in Shadowmoon Valley. If you are on the road, facing the temple, the front area to the Right has mobs that drop Scryer tokens. The other area on the left drops Aldor tokens, however the left area has elite demons that will punish you. The scryer area is a great place to grind for rep,cloth,green drops, and gold.

    Comment by Vakio | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  15. Thanks so much for this info! I had been getting heat from my guy friends who play WoW about which faction to choose. >.< After reading over this and checking out a couple other sites I liked how you just put it out there.. that the ONLY thing that really matters is the GeAr, etc. 😀

    I'm going Aldor on my DK and Scryer on my pally (who is a healer/tank) 😀

    Thanks again and hope to see you someday on Dunemaul Horde 😀

    Comment by Oopseybear | December 7, 2009 | Reply

  16. I simply could not depart your site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information an individual supply on your visitors?
    Is going to be again continuously in order to check
    out new posts

    Comment by Immigration Solicitors Southend- on- sea | October 24, 2012 | Reply

  17. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact used to
    be a leisure account it. Glance complex to more delivered agreeable
    from you! By the way, how could we keep in touch?

    Comment by Travel Documents | April 4, 2013 | Reply

  18. Howdy, I do think your web site may be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when
    opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent site!

    Comment by book of ra kostenlos spielen ohne anmeldung online | June 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

