Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

So, do I take this as a sign?

If you follow this blog at all, you know that a while back I decided to drop skinning and pick up Alchemy.  If you remember, I was enamoured with the Alchemist’s Stone and just had to have one.  I’m currently sitting at around 340-something in Alchemy and to be honest, I’m reconsidering.

I feel like I’ve got to be running around picking particular herbs all the time as opposed to just playing and having fun and picking whatever I come across.  And, if I want to make a batch of a particular potion, then I have to travel to the zone where it is and spend time just picking it to make one particular potion.  With the money I just to make off selling herbs and skins, I could have just bought the potion.

The situation was brought home the other night when I was running through the three “mastery” questlines you get from the Nesingwary Safari guys.  In total, 60 Talbuks and 60 Clefthoofs killed.  That would have been 5 or 6 good stacks of leather.  More than enough to buy whatever potions I wanted.

That Alchemist’s Stone?  +15 to every stat.  It took switching to Alchemy for me to find out there is an elixir that does the same thing: Elixir of Mastery.  Not all that expensive either for a stack of 5.  Sure if I had it and the stone, then I’d have +30 to every stat, which would be pretty sweet, but given there is a drinkable replacement for the stone, it starts to make me think.

Then, THEN, last night I’m running UBRS with some guildies for some of us to finally get attuned to Ony (my guild’s been running Ony pretty regularly just for the fun of it I think), and we head in to kill The Beast.  Why, you ask?  Why not just head straight to Drak?  Well, one of our warriors says in Vent “Hey, let’s go kill The Beast.  I just have a feeling that that skinning knife is going to drop.  You’re skinning, right Amanna?” 

Well, I just kind of keep my mouth shut to see what happens, but of course, you know what happened.  Finkle’s Skinning Knife drops.  I sheepishly take it and mumble a thanks in raid chat, but I start thinking to myself:  This must be a sign.  The World of Warcraft gods are telling me to go back to skinning.  Some dev somewhere noticed I switched and put some code in on The Beast, just in case, to drop the knife for me. 

So I ask you, my loyal readers, both of you, What should Amanna do?

A) Stick it out with Alchemy?  OR

B) Go back to Skinning?

Jury, we await your verdict.

March 9, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft | ,

20 Comments »

  1. Amanna,

    Hey,

    …Well, for your decision, it depends on what you want. I would suggest skinning for quite cash, but I’ve never done Alchemy, so I can’t tell you much with that. I guess someone else will have to help with that decision…

    I decided to play on my Druid last night, and after a couple of Scholo runs and quest turn ins, I hit 58! I was so exited. So I made my way to Outland, got a bar filled from talking to people quests, then went on to Honor Hold. From there I picked up several quests, and since it was late, I got off. This morning I got 6 bars filled from questing, and that made me really happy. I’ve got about a level of rest exp left, yay for me 🙂

    I always got three new pieces of gear, once which I can’t wear yet because it requires level 60. But in two levels, I’ll be there 🙂 I suppose should really start saving some more for my riding lessons if I want to be close by 60 to the amount of money needed for lessons. Oh, and I also got Gift of the Wild: Book II from Scholo last night, so there’s two things waiting for me when I hit 60. Well, I’ve got some more leveling to do, and I’ll check back here soon with more updates and such.

    Comment by Rebecca | March 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. The very fact that you’re considering it means you don’t enjoy alchemy. How much time are you going to spend *not* having fun?

    Let Hunters Pull!

    Damh and Hobbes

    Comment by Damh | March 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Skinning – you know it makes sense 😉

    Comment by Liraele | March 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. Damh,

    I’m surprised that Hobbes would be in favor of skinning, but then again, as long as it’s not him he probably doesn’t care.

    For the time being, I’m sticking with Skinning. I’ve got my Alchemy at 355 and am actually making some money at it. For the time involved to retrain up on skinning, I’m going to stay with Alchemy for a while. I’m finally at a point where there are some potions I can make with Outland-only herbs that are selling for a good amount. That plus the promise of ever more popular elixirs and potions as I level, and I’m going to ride this one for a while to see what happens.

    Comment by Amanna | March 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Amanna,

    Hey there again. I noticed that post about my saying hi and such, and I want to say thank you for just doing that. That put a smile on my face even if no one commented, lol.

    I don’t know if I’m being a little absurd, but it seems like you are upset with me. I’m sorry if this is the case. I don’t know if it’s because I didn’t say anything about that post or what, but I’m sorry. Please don’t be too mad at me?

    Anyways, please get back to me on this with a reply, and the best of luck getting to 68.

    Comment by Rebecca | March 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. Upset with you??!!?? Absolutely not. I thought it was really fun that you logged in to my server to say hi. That was a “smile” moment for me too. I’m a sucker for those little silly life moments like that.

    I deleted the post because 1) no one commented and I felt kind of silly, and 2) you didn’t comment and I was wondering if maybe you were upset I wrote the post in the first place.

    LOL – it’s like we’re dating or something…

    No, all is good.

    Comment by Amanna | March 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Upset that you wrote that post? Of course not! Why would I be upset?

    “LOL – it’s like we’re dating or something…”

    lol! That made me laugh right there. Oh, and btw, I got my druid to 59, and my pally is still stuck at 40. w00t

    Comment by Rebecca | March 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Screw the pally – Druids rule!!!

    Comment by Amanna | March 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. Well Amanna I would recommend Skinning personally, but that’s cause I’m also a leatherworker. A what? yes ther eare still a few of us out here who actually still do leatherworking. Like Damh said it’s a profession I chose mainly because I have fun doing it, plus the mats are easy to get and even if I don’t need the item I just send it to my alt and have him disenchant them. All in all it works out fine for me. *Bonus: I also make all the leather items for the druid in my guild*

    Comment by Taudok | March 19, 2007 | Reply

  10. Taudok,

    Where were you when I wanted Hide of the Wild???

    Comment by Amanna | March 20, 2007 | Reply

  11. I have 375 skinning on both my hunter and my druid and I don’t think I would personally enjoy any other profession as much. Skinning is easy cash, and it’s such a rush when you are riding somewhere and find 30 mobs dead from someone grinding.
    Just curious… were your friends pissed that you got the skinning knife, yet didn’t skin The Beast?
    I had a friend who offered me 200g to level his warrior from 62-70 and, at the time, I didn’t think it was any where near worth the time. I ended up doing it because he was annoying the CRAP out of me asking every couple hours every day. I noticed he had never trained up his skinning past 300 so I took a quick ride to HH, paid the skinner and was on my way. Upon finishing the Nessingwary chains, I had a total of 400 Knothide Leather (This is from Hellfire, Zangar & Terokkar as well). 400 Knothide = 80 Heavy Knothide which sell for about 10g a piece on my server. That’s 800g in 3 days just from skinning as I quest.
    Go get skinning again, forget about that stupid Alchemist’s Stone and you’ll be happy.

    Comment by Slipslappy | March 30, 2007 | Reply

  12. No, no one was pissed. We were doing one of those quick run throughs post BC, just to get Drakk’s blood and get a few remaining guild members attuned for Onyxia. We had been making a few runs here and there just for the heck of it.

    After I picked up the knife, everyone just started running to the next room.

    I’ve stuck with Alchemy so far, but still get the urge to go back to skinning once in a while. Any thoughts as to whether leather prices are going to hold their prices for long? It seems like people are making the uppper levels pretty quickly, so I was thinking that maybe the value of leather would drop as folks got armored up.

    Comment by Amanna | March 30, 2007 | Reply

  13. Plus – how did you turn knothide into heavy knothide? Is that leatherworking?

    Comment by Amanna | March 30, 2007 | Reply

  14. I can wash it was really sensitive. He wentdown christina aguilera sex tape hard.

    Comment by ponsyvdymqo | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  15. lesbian strapon She saidabsently. Why don t see how can start getting into.

    Comment by cratko | June 7, 2008 | Reply

  16. leggy stacy keibler

    Comment by nnyvindexr | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  17. I said. I had horny old sluts risen, sweet thing that for i try.

    Comment by horny | August 2, 2008 | Reply

  18. Frank and bone structure. Ds or eight. Tanya felt kendra wilkinson nude like it, that itseffects.

    Comment by vqyrrituzamu | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  19. dildo sex

    Comment by xwywazyxe | December 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

