Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Ding 68!, but…

I hit 68 last night!  Yay for me.  I was about 80K xp away so I figured it wouldn’t be too hard.  I checked with guildies to see if anyone needed help on an instance run, and they didn’t.  So I headed off toward the Deathforge.  I had a couple of followup quests there.  While the area was a bit dangerous for me as most mobs were 2 levels above me, as long as I didn’t get swarmed I was okay.  With around 1,100+ xp per kill, I figured it wouldn’t be too hard to just grind out the rest of the level.

Well, I head down the ramp and there’s one of my guildies at the entrance to the first cave.  I asked him what he was doing and he said just killing time waiting for some other folks to go on a run.  I actually had two quests in my log that I was waiting to attempt until I levelled, but he offered to help me out.

We got the first one done, stopping a summoning, then he had to go.  At this point I was 96% to level, so I figured I’d just grind some more.  But on my way back out, I stumbled across a Dwarf hunter.  We agreed to help each other out.  He was from the Ebon Myth guild.  I see them all over the place on our server and the few I’ve played with are straight-up, so we teamed up.

We did my quest first, which was to find the backpack of Flanis somewhere in the cave.  Of course it was at the end of the farthest hallway from the entrance, but did you expect any less?  After that we finished off the Hunter’s quest.  The laugh of the night was he had to kill this level 69 demon for his quest.  Non-elite, but still, we’re thinking Demon… level 69… quest objective…  Might be tough.  I switched to bear form to tank the guy and he went down almost without a fight.  The Ebon Myth hunter guy says “Damn, he was a Sally”.  🙂

So we split up, I turn in my quests and ding on the second.  I immediately teleported to Moonglade to train.  Upgrades to Entangling Roots and Mangle, but no Flight Form. 

See, I was wondering what would happen.  I’ve read all kinds of differing opinions on different sites as to whether you need to purchase riding upgrades to get access to Flight Form.  On my own site Ogracious posted a reply to one of my posts saying you definitely needed it.  But if you go to Wowhead and look up flight form, they say you get the riding upgrade with the talent.

I think I may know where the disconnect is. 

See, I never bought an epic mount at level 60.  Just never had the cash nor felt I needed to go that much faster.  So I only have the first level of riding – the one that gives you skill 75 (Apprentice).  If I had bought a level 60 epic mount then I would have purchased Artisan which gives you riding skill 150.  It appears from my research that this is the skill level you need to get your flight form.  The next level, Expert – riding skill 225, is widely reported to be automatically given to you when you train Flight Form.  Then the Journeyman level for riding skill 300 is what we’ll need to buy for level 70 epic riding mount and our epic flight form and that’s the one that costs the serious cash.

I ended up getting tired last night and not buying my riding upgrade.  I also didn’t feel like spending the 600G for it if I didn’t have too, so I did some quick double-checking this morning.  Tonight, though, young Isla Blusterbrew will be the benefactor of 600G of my hard-earned money.  Then it’s off to the nearest druid trainer and hopefully I’ll be flying soon after.

If anyone out there is reading this and I’ve got this all wrong, please drop me a comment today. 

March 28, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

4 Comments »

  1. Hey

    Haven’t said anything for a while…sorry. My monitor blew out on Saturday night and I’m supposed to replace it today.

    Anyways, grats on 68. I’m still stuck at 61, due to my monitor. Incase you haven’t bought the riding lessons yet, you’re right. You do need them to train flight form. I talked to several druids who had flight form and they all told me basically the same thing. That you needed riding 150 for flight form. So you can go ahead and buy them.

    I’m 400g from epic lessons as of the time I last played. But I’ll get that money eventually…I hope.

    Comment by Rebecca | March 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. I was wondering what happened to you. I hope the new monitor works.

    Yes, I bought the skill. I hope to post something today or tomorrow. You have to buy the skill to get to 150, but you get upgraded to 225 when you train the flight form talent. So in the long run it’s a great bargain, but since I had never trained at level 60 it was a lot of money.

    Comment by Amanna | March 29, 2007 | Reply

  3. I believe you are dead on, if you are saying that you need epic riding skill of 150(ground mount) to train for flight form, which will in turn upgrade that to 225 riding skill. 😀

    Comment by Ogracious | May 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. Your blog was linked as possibly related on mine.
    Just wanted to say congrats on 68 – dinged that myself this morning on my Horde alt. First Horde toon in Northrend!

    Comment by rhinne | June 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

