Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Like a kid in a candy store…

Candy StoreI just can’t stop looking at the list.  The geeky-goodness of it in all it’s objectived list glory is just too much to resist.

Part of me is intriqued that for once, there is a roadmap to follow for all that great gear you hear folks talking about.  And when someone disses your equipment and points out their Crystal Bat of Sophomoric Agility has 3 more points of whatever than your does, you can simply point out “That may be but my weapon scored higher on Emmerald’s list”.  Bingo-bango, end of argument. 

The other great aspect of the list is now I’ve got a place to start for all this great gear.  When I was approaching 60 with Amanna, I was behind the end-game curve.  I always heard of all this great gear, but was never quite sure where to find it or how to get started.  This time around, I’m more out front of the wave toward end-game.  Hopefully, I’ll get to participate more in the goodies.

But I must admit, what really draws me to the list, is the simple way it shows you what could be.  No tricks, no surprises, no hidden 15-part quest chains – here it is in one glorious list.

So after almost a full week of poking around the various sections and gear slots, I got to thinking.  What’s the best gear I could get without spending too much effort?  Now I don’t mean slacker time here, but let’s face it.  It’s going to be a while, if ever, before Amanna is wearing a Tier 5 set.  I just don’t play that much, nor is my guild a hard-core end game guild.

No, I started playing around with the list to figure out how good of gear I could get given the following play guidelines:

  1. I assumed I was level 70.  I’ll be there soon enough.

  2. I ruled out any gear that was one of a family of “…of the x”.  It’s bad enough farming for one piece of gear, let alone trying to get one with a particular enchantment.

  3. I ruled out gear from elite raids.  Can’t be successful there with PUGs and it will be a while until I’m in there with my guild.

  4. I’m also not considering drops from Heroic mode dungeons for the same reasons as raid dungeons.

  5. I approached drops from elite or rare spawns with skepticism.  Again, I have better things to do then wait for an elite spawn, get a group together to kill it, and hope it drops the piece I’m looking for.   (Not to mention win the roll for it).

  6. I don’t PvP, so no PvP reward gear was considered.

I did assume the following:

  1. I am willing to pay good money for great gear.  I am also willing to buy the gems sometimes required to make good gear great.

  2. I am willing to go on long quest chains for great gear.

  3. For the right piece of equipment, I am willing to do some manageable farming.

  4. I accept that Emmerald knows what he’s talking about and what he says is great really is.

  5. I have a guild that will support my efforts.

What did I find?  You can get some pretty darn good gear, almost as good as Tier 4 or 5 and in some cases slightly better (according to Emmerald), if you know where to look.

So with this post, I kick off a three part series: Great end-game gear without raiding.  Following Emmerald’s breakdown on his list, the three posts will cover Bear tanking gear (damage mitigation), Cat sustained damage gear (damage generation), and Cat burst damage gear (crit generation).

The bear post will be first and I’m working on it right now.  There is some great gear out there, some of it surprisingly easy to come by if you know where to look and what to do.

Before I go though, I just have to say this.  Since posting the BC Feral Equipment List a few days ago, the link hasn’t gotten that many click-throughs.  I’m hoping you all have just added it to your browser favorites or something, because if you’re feral and you haven’t made this thing your bible, you are missing out.  So – click it, read it, use it!

Forms Bar

March 31, 2007 - Posted by | Burning Crusade, Druid Gear, World of Warcraft

5 Comments »

  1. […] end-game gear without raiding: Bear In a previous post, I laid out my guidelines for this series of three posts: gear that approaches Tier 4 and 5, but […]

    Pingback by Great end-game gear without raiding: Bear « Adventures in Azeroth | April 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. I have a guildie who is using this list and he swears by it. He’s a great tank now and I’d group with him anyday!

    Comment by Ben | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] In a previous post, I laid out my guidelines for this series of three posts: gear that approaches Tier 4 and 5, but without the effort.  The information in these posts is gleaned from a list of BC Feral Gear put together by a European druid player named Emmerald.  While I’m sure we all dream about wearing a full set of Tier 5 equipment, the reality for me at least is I’m not that hard core of a player to know whether that dream will ever become a reality.  So I’m putting together this series to give you a list of great gear that can be had with considerably less effort. […]

    Pingback by Great end-game gear without raiding: Cat (Sustained DPS) « Adventures in Azeroth | April 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. […] In a previous post, I laid out my guidelines for this series of three posts: gear that approaches Tier 4 and 5, but without the effort.  The information in these posts is gleaned from a list of BC Feral Gear put together by a European druid player named Emmerald.  While I’m sure we all dream about wearing a full set of Tier 5 equipment, the reality for me at least is I’m not that hard core of a player to know whether that dream will ever become a reality.  So I’m putting together this series to give you a list of great gear that can be had with considerably less effort. […]

    Pingback by Great end-game gear without raiding: Cat (Sustained DPS) | Adventures in Azeroth | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. […] In a previous post, I laid out my guidelines for this series of three posts: gear that approaches Tier 4 and 5, but without the effort.  The information in these posts is gleaned from a list of BC Feral Gear put together by a European druid player named Emmerald.  While I’m sure we all dream about wearing a full set of Tier 5 equipment, the reality for me at least is I’m not that hard core of a player to know whether that dream will ever become a reality.  So I’m putting together this series to give you a list of great gear that can be had with considerably less effort. […]

    Pingback by Great end-game gear without raiding: Bear | Adventures in Azeroth | February 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

