Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Well then Alchemy, I guess it’s “goodbye”…

You may remember a while back I became enamoured with The Alchemist’s Stone with its+15 to all stats buff, and dropped skinning in favor of Alchemy.  I spent around 100G levelling Alchemy and I’m now almost to 375 with it.  Shortly after switching, I wondered if I had made a mistake and asked you, my dear readers, for your input.  In a unanimous display, everyone responding favored skinning over Alchemy.

Still – I pressed on.  After getting two blue recipie drops, things were looking up.  The Fel Strength Elixir was selling for around 30G a stack on my server and the mats were very easy to find.

But some things was still nagging at the back of my mind.  Like all the bag space carrying around all those herbs took.  All the money I was missing out on by hoarding my herbs instead of selling them.  Not to mention feeling nostalgic everytime I ran past a pile of corpses (I mean – is that not the definition of “free money”?).

So, when rumblings started of big changes to Alchemy, I figured I would wait and see what the changes were before making any rash decisions.  Well, courtesy of WoW Insider, here are the official Alchemy patch notes:

Alchemy

  • The chance of a discovery occurring while making potions has been substantially increased.
  • Elixirs now stack in two categories, Battle (Offensive) and Guardian (Defensive) Elixirs. You can only have one of each type of Elixir up at a time. As a result Elixirs now stack with class abilities such as “Arcane Intellect.”
  • Elixirs now stack to 20.
  • Four new defensive elixirs have been added. Two are on trainers, one is in Halaa and one is in Cenarion Expedition.
  • “Flask of Petrification” can no longer be turned off during its duration, but it now will clear all threat from all monsters for the duration of the effect. Though monsters may reacquire you after the effect ends.
  • Cooldown time on “Earthstorm” and “Skyfire Diamond” transmutes has been reduced to 1 day.
  • “Invulnerability” potions now stop the first 120 damage per hit for 8 seconds, rather than making the imbiber physically immune.
  • The major protection potions made by Alchemy now require more “Mana Thistle” and vials, but create 5 potions instead of just one.
  • “Fel Strength” elixirs now work correctly with elixir mastery.
  • “Elemental Absorption” potions now have a 2 minute duration rather than the 60 min duration they used to have.
  • Alchemy transmute of “Heart of Fire” to “Elemental Fire” changed to 15 minute cooldown.
  • Reagent costs and potency of all flasks has been reduced.
  • The cost of “Imbued Vials” has been reduced.
  • The chance to find a “Fel Lotus” while picking an herb has been increased.
  • “Juju Chill” and “Juju Ember” are now considered Guardian Elixirs and do not stack with other resistance buffs.
  • “Juju Flurry” is now considered a Battle Elixir and has been converted from haste to haste rating.
  • “Ground Scorpok Assay”,”Juju Might”,”Juju Power”, “Lung Juice Cocktail”, and R.O.I.D.S are now considered Battle Elixirs.
  • “Crystal Force”, “Crystal Ward”,”Gizzard Gum”, “Infallible Mind”,”Juju Escape”, “Juju Guile”, “Sheen of Zanza” and Swiftness of Zanza are all now considered Guardian Elixirs.
  • “Sheen of Zanza” is now considered a Guardian Elixir. Stamina and Spirit bonuses have been reduced to 25.
  • “Elixir of Fortitude” now correctly displays its name in its buff tooltip.
  • The “Alchemist’s Stone” bonus now works on potions that restore both health and mana.

I read all this and I’m quite sure that somewhere a group of Blizzard game designers are sure they’ve increased the viability of the profession and helped simplify end-game raid content balancing; however, all I see is reduced demand = less money.

Only two elixirs up at one time?  The impact on demand is just too obvious.  It’s going to go down.  Yes, the cost of the more popular elixirs will increase, but overall I just don’t see total demand going anywhere but down.   I could be horribly wrong here, but my gut tells me I’m not.

I won’t belabor the point and I certainly don’t begrudge Blizzard’s decision.  In a way I thank them.  It makes a decision I’ve been struggling with even easier. 

I’m going back to skinning.

I don’t look forward to the levelling grind, but I’ll have more money and more bag slots for all the great gear I’ll be buying with that money. 

End of story.  I can’t believe you guys didn’t tell me to do this a long time ago…

April 12, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft | ,

4 Comments »

  1. I also changed from Skinning to Alchemy recently, but despite the fact that I too see reduced demand for herbs and elixrs (and thus less potential income) I’m going to stick with it. The main reason I changed was that coughing up 20g for a stack of five Super Mana Pots made me ill (as a Resto Druid my consumption level is fairly high for instances and raids). Pretty much all my Alchemy income to date has come from selling pots as opposed to elixrs. Plus I can help out my fellow guildies more as an Alchemist than I ever could as a Skinner. The people who got really shafted were those people who’d chosen Master of Elixirs – I hope they give people a way to change their mastery without re-levelling the whole profession. But I don’t think these changes are good for the profession and I can see why you would go back to skinning. I have a little cry everytime I have to leave a ‘skinnable’ corpse behind. (Love the blog, BTW!)

    Comment by Amandrel | April 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. I am an alchemist too and I understand the disappointment and the drive to go back to a gathering profession for money making. I will stick to alchemy though. As every other crafting skill the reality is that you make less money compare to any other gathering profession. If the money is what you are looking for the best possible combination is mining/skinning. Period. Herbs are fine, but they make less money anywhays. Still, I made a lot of money with healing and mana potions and a steady income from my trasmute. But another reason to stick with Alchemy for me is the Alchemist’s Stone. This is possibly one of the best trincket for a feral fighter.

    Comment by Tanuviel | April 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. Good comments both of you – thanks.

    The swtich back isn’t just about the changes. As I discussed when I first considered the switch, I wondered whether the additional time required to devote to alchemy would become an issue. I think that element was the final straw for me.

    When I log on to play, I like to play – so gathering professions are great for me. When you see something you pick/mine/skin it and move on. With Alchemy and the other crafting professions, you have to devote time to them and market them.

    I’m not slamming these professions, just acknowledging that I want to spend my time elsewhere.

    In my own mind and on my own server, I believe that the money I make selling all the herbs I collect will more than cover the consumables I want to buy for raiding.

    As to the Alchemist’s Stone – Agreed, good (great) trinket for tanking, and this did make me stop and re-think my decision. Checking the Feral Gear list I’ve had posted for a while, I see two jewelcrafted trinkets ranked right above the Stone, so I’m not worried that I’m losing our on stats.

    Amandrel – thanks for the compliment. Keep reading and keep commenting!

    Comment by Amanna | April 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Personnaly, I’m ok with the changes. I’m a herbalist/alchemist. I hated nothing more than having to farm for 1hr or 2 just to gather the necessary mats for all my potions for the night.

    The potion/elixir change is nice. It levels the playing field for most guilds and players. Guilds were exploiting the fact that you could have almost 2 full rows of potion buffs. I should know I did it one time, and let me tell you it is a unfair advantage when it comes to encounter.

    The changes will allow for more time devoted to playing the game instead of being a flower gatherer. :-p Just some thoughts.

    Bruennor

    Comment by Bruennor | April 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

