Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Weekend Update 4/23 – A Level, and more leveling

I had two objectives for the weekend – level 70 and level 200 for both mining and skinning.  I’m happy to say I achieved them both.

I hit level 70 late Saturday night.  I hadn’t played Friday night, so logged on hoping to get in a guild instance run as I was only around 130K to level.  Yea, I could just grind it, but I hate grinding.  I was fishing around for a while and it didn’t seem like anything was happening.  So I went off to The Hinterlands and continued trying to level mining and skinning.  Well, pretty soon someone needed help in The Blood Furnace.  Given the level of the instance I wasn’t too confident that I’d get much xp out of it, but it was better than circling The Hinterlands looking for Mithril to mine.

Turns out the xp wasn’t that bad.  I was a replacement and first boss was already down.  So we ran the rest of the instance and the second two bosses.  Got a decent amount of xp and a bonus.  I had completely forgotten about a quest I had picked up in Honor Hold that send me back into The Blood Furnance for some vials of Orc Blood.  More on that later.  Anyway, by the time the run was over and I turned in the quest, I was only about 30K from 70.  Okay, time to grind.  At around 12:30 a.m. I hit level 70!  Woo-Hoo.

I have to say – not as satisfying as level 60.  I don’t know if it’s that it was only 10 levels or whether it feels like it’s easier to level in Outland, but when I turned 60 it really felt like an accomplishment.  Turning 70 felt more like I knew it was coming, it was just a matter of when.  Don’t get me wrong – I still love the game and have a blast; just a different feeling for 70.

Hitting 70 I was finally able to equip all the gear I had accumulated and socketed: Heavy Clefthoof Vest, Heavy Clefthoof Leggings, and Shoulderpads of Assassination.  I have to say I agree with the debate that is slowly brewing in the comments for my bear list.  The gear seems to focus on stamina over armor.  Equipping these items meant I un-equipped Ash Tempered Legguards and Jerkin of Untamed Spirit.  That’s quite a bit of armor I just gave up.  I did pick up a ton of stamina and recognize that those additional hit points will help me weather boss hits a bit better, but I’m not sure yet how I feel about the tradeoff.  Anyone who wants to jump into this debate, please feel free. 

As mentioned, I continue to level mining and skinning.  My goal was 200 for both this weekend, and they both now sit a little above 210.  I was incorrect in a previous post when I said mining was unlike crafting in that you couldn’t level it with an auction house and a mailbox.  I did hit a patch where I was able to get around 15 levels by buying gold ore and smelting it.  For the most part though, it appears to take actual mining to level.  I find that by the time I get a smelting recipie, it’s only good for a small number of levels until it goes grey.  Plus, there is a huge stretch of 30 levels between Mithril at level 200 and Truesilver at 230, where the only way to level is to mine Mithril (although I have been having some good luck with Iron, even though it is at green for me).  Next stop for both of these is 300, so I can get back into Outland full time and cut down on my travel.

I also completed a quest series that starts with Bring Down the Warbringer! just outside Wildhammer Keep.  This is the quest series that lets you operate a Fel Reaver, which was a lot of fun (hint – you must have the pet bar active to be able to control the Fel Reaver.  Took me about 5 mintues to figure that one out).  Anyway – not a hard quest series and ended up with Band of Anguish as a reward.  This wasn’t one of our top two kitty rings, but I’ll tell you it’s not very far down on the list and is a great ring with +13 agility, hit rating +10 and attack power +50. 

Don’t forget to head back to Honor Hold when you’re getting around 68 or 69.  It’s not just for Outland newbies.  There are some quests that begin to open up once you hit the upper levels that appear to have some good rewards.  For instance, I picked up this Moonkin Headdress for completing the Blood Furnace quest I had.  It wasn’t better than what I had on, but a solid piece of gear nonetheless.  AND – I got to hear an NPC dwarf say “out frickin’ standing” – more than worth the price of admission.   I haven’t researched it, but there appear to be a number of good, high level quests in Honor Hold once you hit your upper levels. 

The blog has really taken off and it’s getting around 500 or so hits a day on average.  Most popular as of late are the Bear list and the Kara cliff notes, although the cat list is slowly gaining.  It appears some guild websites have linked in.  I thank you all for the interest and support.  Let me know what you’d like to see, and I’ll try to get to it.  My next big research topic I’d like to tackle is enchantments of interest by gear slot – what they are, what they do, and where to get them.

Finally, and I post this here as it will most likely get read only by the few of you that read regularly, I want to thank you sincerely for the kind words of support you left on my previous post.  We met with a lawyer Friday after work to find that, for a dissolution, all it takes is a couple hundred dollars and a few forms to end your marriage.  Kind of weird.  So while we remain friends and this isn’t a contentious issue, you almost wish it was from an emotional perspective.  It just seems weird to say “We still like each other we just can’t figure out how to live together.” 

So, the initial rawness of emotion is starting to wear off a bit for both of us and we are getting on.  We both have our ups and downs, and the process of figuring out how to restart two separate lives out of one joined life can be emotionally taxing.  It helps that we are approaching it from a perspective of mutual respect. 

In the midst of all that, I would log on every once in a while the last few days to a kind or supportive comment on the blog.  So, I thank you all who took the time to say something.  It meant a lot to me.

I’m out most of the week on an out of town trip, so no posts again for a while.  Have a great week!

April 23, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft | ,

7 Comments »

  1. Congratulations!

    Comment by spelldamage | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Grats on 70. Don’t think your questing is done yet though. 70 to me really didn’t seem like much more than any other level this time around. I could get into different BG’s and equip more gear, but that was about it. I still have almost have a zone to finish questing in. It’s pretty much a continuous process.

    Comment by Eilianna (Mal'Ganis) | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. Congrats on 70! I am still 5 levels away…saying that makes it seem so close, but that is so decieving. Well, I’m 6 bars of rested experiance away from 66 and I’ve got plenty of quests to go, so I should probably ding tomorrow since I don’t think I’ll be able to play today. Two projects to work on, seems like they never stop coming…

    Again, good job on 70 and have fun on your trip. =)

    Comment by Rebecca | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Grats on 70! You worry about the Heavy Clefthoof Set not having enough armor will go away once the new patch comes out. The 2.1.0 patch, which is on the PTR, included numerous item value reassessments. The Heavy Clefthoof Set for one got a little change. It picked up more armor, but a little less stamina and defense. All in all it is still a good set to use. I still would recommend it.

    Now for everyone, the bear tanking list ( Emmerald’s and others ) will be a little outdated due to the item changes so keep that in mind when it comes to items. Personnaly, I will always use my Heavy Clefthoof set. It is great for tanking and if you are lacking in areas you have many other item slots that you can use to make up the difference.

    Grats on 70
    Bruennor
    (Character: Brunnor of Gorgonnash )

    Comment by Bruennor | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Grats to Amanna on 70!! My druid was my second character to 70 so it took a lot less time since I had already done all of the quests. I actually ended up hitting 70 before I even made it into Shadowmoon or Netherstorm, so I have two full zones of quests to do post 70.
    The Clefthoof set is a great tanking set and I highly recommend holding on to it. I use it religiously when tanking and highly recommend Item Rack for switching in and out of tank gear. I now have a complete set of tank gear, dps gear, and healing gear… and I thought my HUNTER took up a lot of bag space… Anyway, Item Rack helps a lot when changing into another full set of armor for specific situations.

    On a side note… Now that you’ve hit 70 you’re going to start noticing some nice gold rewards for questing. Since you don’t need xp anymore, don’t be surprised to start receiving anywhere between 11g and 30g for the bigger quests. 🙂 Start saving your money, because you’re going to love having the epic flight form after one of the next couple patches.

    Comment by Slipslappy (Icedown) | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thanks everyone! I’m definitely looking forward to more questing, and certainly looking forward to more gold.

    Bruennor – I’ll be interested to see if Emmerald re-issues his list post-patch. I haven’t been on his druid wikispace a lot, but the few times I’ve been there he seems active. Hopefully, he’ll re-roll the list to see if any changes happened, and then I can update the blog.

    Slip – Definitely holding on to the Clefthoof pieces. I spent way too much money buy them! I use Outfitter for my gear swaps btw.

    See you all in a few days.

    Comment by Amanna | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi all. Cool site Google
    Thank.

    Comment by VallAbuh | February 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

