Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Weekend Update 4/30 – Not Much!

Just didn’t have it over the weekend.  The continuing emotional toll of my real life not only is making me tired all the time, but <gasp> affecting my desire to play.  But Amanna – you’re bringing us down…  Sorry.

I did play some here and there.  I got mining up to 250.  I know I will love the gold once I starting mining in Outland, but I’m really hating the leveling grind.  Especially, getting all excited about hitting 250, flying to Ironforge to train smelting Truesilver, only to find out it’s already grey. What’s up with that?

So I switched over to grinding my skinning for a while and it’s now at 240 or so.  I’ve been parked just down the hill from Aerie Peak for quite a while.  You can get probably 30 levels or so with all those wolves that wander around there.  And when they go yellow on you, just head around the corner toward all those troll temples where there are higher level wolves. 

So I’m getting there on both skinning and mining and hope to get both up to 300 over the next week or so, so I can get back into Outland full time.

No instances this weekend – the only major quests completed was the Teron Gorefiend series.  The gear rewards for the final stage aren’t bad (they’re listed in the comments), but it was the end fight that was so much fun.  Once you track down three pieces of Gorefiend’s old equipment and turn them in, you get “possessed” by the ancient spirit at the Altar of Shadow.  Turns out (surprise, surprise) the spirit is actually Teron Gorefiend himself and you just collected all his old gear for him and let him loose upon the world. 

He can’t be all that bad, since he needs you to destroy the watcher that shows up to kill him, and this is the fun part.  It’s just like the quest where you get to control a Fel Reaver.  Make sure you pet bar is active, and you’ll have 4 special abilities that you can use against the Watcher.  The fight isn’t that hard, just make sure to click all the abilities as soon as their countdown ends.  The one on the right, Death and Decay, is a targeted ability, so make sure to get the little green circle on the Watcher.  Other than that – the fight goes pretty smoothly – again just be sure to use all the abilities as soon as they become available.

 I really need to get into Steamvaults and get that second key fragment for my Kara attunement – still haven’t done that.  Everytime I log on, all my upper level guild members are already committed, and I really hate to run it for the first time with a PUG.  I’ll get there though.  Some real life things are going to finalize and settle down this weekend, so I will have plenty of time to play and get my head back together.

Oh – and we may have a new addition to Adventures in Azeroth very soon.  I won’t spoil the surprise here – but I’m excited about it.

April 30, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

7 Comments »

  1. That Teron Gorefield series sounds interesting in a way…I’ll get there eventually.

    I think I’m going to pick up skinning or mining…one of the two. Since enchanting is just blah for me 🙂 BTW, I hit 67. One level until flight form. I can’t wait!

    Comment by Rebecca | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. Skinning is arguably easier to level than mining, FYI.

    Comment by Eilianna (Mal'Ganis) | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. I would agree with Eilanna on the difficulty, but I’ve found the second time around that it has it’s share of frustrations. It seems like Blizzard has put artificial slowdowns along the way. Even when I’m skinning orange corpses, I only get a level up about every 3-4 skins. My first go around when Outland opened up it was the same thing.

    So while there are many more resources to skin vs. nodes to mine – it still can be frustrating.

    I’m currently leveling both.

    Comment by Amanna | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hmm…well, I’ll see what I’m going to do…I probably won’t switch until 70, so I have 3 levels to wait.

    Thanks for tips though, hopefully it’ll make my decision easier.

    Comment by Rebecca | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  5. hey im at 375 or both mining and skinning, both are are small pain to lvl up due to the time it takes to collect each etc, unsure which makes more money at the moment seems the moment you can harvest clefthoof leather u make a fortune as well as adamantite ores… (not the bars!)

    no at around 1200g… 4000 til epic mount so tiring!

    and the key for steamvaults can be solo’d with a hunter with the help of your pet and an invisibility potion + cheetah speed…. or using a stealth toon… really easy to do too… took me a few attempts to work out the route but easy done now…

    drop me an email for a how to if you wish…

    Comment by Kyle | May 2, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi Kyle,

    Your E-Mail address didn’t come through, but that guide to soloing the second key fragments sounds like something that others might be interested in.

    If you don’t mind, use the Contact Form on the About page and send me the information. I’ll post it on the site. Be sure to include any information you want so I can give you appropriate credit (blog address, Armory profile, mailing address and SSN, etc…)

    Comment by Amanna | May 2, 2007 | Reply

  7. sent sir…

    Comment by Kyle | May 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

