Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

My new BC Dungeon research site

If you’ve read this blog at all, you know I’m into research.  What I really like in a research site is lots of relevant information for the topic at hand, densely packed, with lots of tools to quickly find and filter what I’m looking for.  I also like sites that cross-reference with relevant information; like if I’m looking at an instance overview, show me all the quests that involve that instance.  Finally, if the color scheme for the site is dark on dark, then that’s just icing on the cake.

Well, I’ve found a site that fits all my criteria for researching instances and dungeons in BC (actually, they have data for pre-BC dungeons also, but who is really looking that up at this point?).  It’s not a new site – it’s AMPWoW.com.  I’ve always known about the site and saw it linked to on a couple blogs, but never really used it until today over lunch.  I was researching The Steamvaults and they came up high on the search results.  I gotta say – they should because this is a really good site.

You can hit the front door of their instance area here.  Also, just hover over the “Zones” menu item on any page for several options concerning dungeons. 

What I like about this site is each dungeon (meaning instance or raid) page is it’s own little mini-site with map, boss overviews, loot tables, quests, etc.  Everything is organized by tabs and cross-references to other data on the site.  It’s really easy to find what you’re looking for all in one place.  And the black on grey color scheme is oh so soothing to the eyes…

If I have one complaint, and believe me it’s a minor one, is that there are almost too many ways to get to the information.  To find The Steamvualts for instance, you could: 1) Zones/BC Dungeons/The Steamvaults; 2) Zones/BC Dungeon Maps/Click The Steamvaults from resulting page; 3) Zones/Green BC Dungeons Maps link/Click The Steamvaults from resulting page; 4) Just click the BC Dungeons link under Zones and select from the resulting page; 5) Just click the Dungeons link under Zones and select from the resulting page.  There may even be more, but I got tired of clicking around.  Now if the information is good, then I know I should just be glad I found it, but sometimes too many links can be confusing.  If all the BC dungeon information is displayed on the link that is supposed to be pre-BC dungeons, then why not just have one link?

That is a very small distraction though from what it the best instance/raid research tool I’ve seen in a while.  I’m adding the link to my Online Resources blogroll to the right.  If you don’t already know about this site, then check it out.

May 14, 2007 - Posted by | Online resources, World of Warcraft

2 Comments »

  1. Hey. Kinda off topic, but I hit 70 on Saturday. 🙂

    I stayed up late on Friday to get 6 bars away, and then after some questing on Saturday I leveled. After I dinged I did Shadow Labs, couldn’t down third boss, and with a guild group ran Shattered Halls but we couldn’t down the last boss. I still need my first key fragment for Kara…maybe this weekend. Hopefully.

    Comment by Rebecca | May 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Grats Rebecca. It’s been fun getting your little updates along the way. Plenty still to do…

    Comment by Amanna | May 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

