Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Weekend Update 4/21 – Three “almosts”

I almost was able to report maxing Mining after weeks of flying around looking for nodes.  I’m at 370, so should be maxed out very soon.

So, was it worth it?  Most folks I talked to and the greater percentage of the commenters on this blog, indicated that mining offered the most income of all the strictly gathering professions.  I did a very unscientific test of this theory.  One time my banker alt was at the Auction House, I took a look at the top 4 or so gathered items in both Mining and Herbalism.  I only looked at ore for Mining – no bars or crafted items.  I don’t know about you but I’m finding ore selling in most cases higher than the smelted bars – no doubt due to prospecting Jewelers.

Anyway, what I found is that on average, prices were very similar and there was no clear income advantage for being a miner over an herb picker.  But mining does have one advantage over herbalism in it’s “extras” you get from time to time while mining.  These include various gems along with motes of earth and fire.  One afternoon, I got enough motes just from around an hour of mining to make a couple Primal Earths and one Primal Fire (the Primal Fire sold for around 28G).  While I haven’t gotten high-level gems yet, I’ve gotten a fair amount of greens that are usually worth around 1G.  You do get extras from herbalism, but nothing that approaches the value of the mining presents.

So – what’s my final verdict.  I do think mining will make me more money over the long haul than herbalism, but I don’t think it will be substantial money.  I don’t regret picking up mining, but knowing what I know now, I never would have dropped herbalism in the first place.  It was a ton of work for slightly more money.

I almost got to finish Seer Udalo.  I’ve been wanting to make progress on this quest series for quite a while to get those Verdant Gloves.  I had a good group together yesterday afternoon and we were making good progress through Arcatraz.  Our only problem was a priest with connection issues, and unfortunately she had a tendency to drop out right in the middle of boss fights.  It was actually kind of funny and made me appreciate a good priest even more – fight is going well, then all of a sudden virtually everyone’s health starts dropping, fast.  (We had three melee on the boss).  She’d eventually reconnect and we’d move on.  Well, we finished off the second double boss room when guild invites were starting to go out for the Kara run and two members of our party had to leave.  So close…  Just for the heck of it I tried to stealth the rest of the way.  Let me tell you without hesitation – you cannot stealth Arcatraz! 

I almost got my last Kara key fragment.  Had I not told everyone I needed to run Arcatraz when I really needed to go to The Steamvaults, I’d have it now.  I felt kinda stupid on that one…

So, three swings and three deep, deep, deep foul balls.  Oh well, there’s always next weekend.

May 21, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

5 Comments »

  1. Amanna you can stealth Steamvaults to the key fragment and the mob is soloable with semi-decent gear. Pretty sure he’s not stunnable though, so you should be in tanking gear and bear form.
    🙂
    Let me know if you have questions.
    -Slippy

    Comment by Slipslappy (Icedown) | May 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hmmmm. I have a lot of chores on the agenda for tonight, but I’m thinking I’m going to have to try this when done. I just checked wowhead’s comments for the second key fragment and there are lots of folks saying they stealthed the key. Mostly rogues, but one feral druid says he did it no problem.

    Tonight, we shall see…

    Comment by Amanna | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. First of all, great blog, love reading it, keep up the good work 🙂
    The second keyfragment is indeed easily soloable for a druid as well. And the elemental can be bashed to heal up if my memory doesnt fail me. Just keep away from the big Boglords while stealthing as they see through stealth from far. Hope this helps,

    -Daem

    Comment by Daemion | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. Also… just read this and had no idea… The guy that pops when you click the stone is considered a “beast” even though he looks like an elemental. Would probably be most beneficial for you to take your healing gear and just Hibernate/Starfire spam the guy… at least that’s what I would have done had I known what I know now. 🙂

    Comment by Slipslappy (Icedown) | May 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. I believe I read over on wowhead’s comments that Maim also works for popping out and healing. If I’m still in cat form when I get to the fragment, this will certainly be an option, but I will probably be looking for an opportunity to switch to my bear gear for the extra armor just in case.

    Comment by Amanna | May 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

