Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

New Gear

Patches come out, new factions arise, and new areas offer untold rewards.  This has been no different with 2.1.

The problem for a casual gamer like myself is knowing how to prioritize your time.  With only so much time to play, I never feel like I can just spend a couple days playing around in a new area to see if there is anything of interest there for me.  Plus, time constraints always make me feel like I’m not advancing fast enough on the things I want to get done, let alone exploration into uncharted territories.

So when I read about the new factions and areas that came out along with the 2.1 patch, I didn’t see anything that would take me away from my quest to get Kara attuned and acquire better gear.

That may have changed with Ecanem’s reply to my Weekend Update post.

He (she?) said they had recently purchased a Badge of Tenacity for 600G that really boosted their stats.  I didn’t recall that item so I looked it up.  Turns out the Badge of Tenacity is a trinket that gives you 308 armor (yes, that’s not a misprint), and a “use” function that raises your agility by 150 for 20 seconds.  I’m not a big fan of trinkets, but that’s a damn nice trinket!

Reading through the comments on WoWhead, you get this trinket in the new Ogri’La area.  Read the comments yourself, but basically you farm various mobs in the area for days to get a Depleted Badge, then combine it with 50 Apexis Shards.  The only good new?  By the time the Depleted Badge drops, you’ll probably have tons of Shards.  Based on the comments, that’s it – no multi-part quests, no travelling all over Azeroth, just a couple days of farming and you’ve got yourself a 300+ armor trinket.

OR….

You could just buy one like Ecanem did.  The trinket that gets created is Bind on Equip, so it can be bought and sold.  If they really are going for 600G, then that wouldn’t be a bad payday for a couple days farming either.

Thanks for the comment Ecanem – this is a great tanking trinket and I will definitely be farming for this while I try to pull together my Black Morass run.  I checked out the Bear tanking list and didn’t see it on the list, so I visited the Druid forum to see if Emmerald had plans to update the list.  Sure enough, he’s got a sticky forum post specifically for reporting items not on the list.  I reported this trinket.  It appears that Emmerald does plan on keeping the list up to date.

By the way Ecanem – there was a good suggestion in the WoWHead comments.  Combine the Badge of Tenacity with Moroes’ Lucky Pocket Watch for a good sustained major bump to dodge for 30 seconds (they don’t share the same cooldown timer).

May 29, 2007 - Posted by | Druid Gear, World of Warcraft

9 Comments »

  1. Nice to see I was mentioned in your blog.

    A few comments, first I am a he 🙂 so there is no confusion there. Second, I am similar to you, I work every day from 9-5 and then I have other obligations until ~10pm -10:30 est so I really only get on a few hours a night. Usually enough time for one instance run, so I have to pick a choose my time carefully and I have been lucky in getting some of the gear I have acquired.

    I learn much of what I learn from reading the druid forums on worldofwar and the official ones (as much complaining as there is there, they really get up to date information). From there it helps me pick and choose where I want to go for a night. Last night I finished up BM and am now kara attuned! Too bad I may not get to run it for a long time due to my schedule.

    I used your blog as a baseline for my bear gearing up and made a few substitution’s but followed it for the most part.
    Here is my armory profile: http://armory.worldofwarcraft.com/#character-sheet.xml?r=Bloodhoof&n=Ecanem
    Last night in my BM run I was tank and with Blessing of Kings and Prayer of fortitude I had about 25.5k Armor, 16.4k health and 25% dodge or so. My defense is currently at 400 while fighting in the level 70 instances because there is still very little chance of me getting critted with that much defense by level 72 and under mobs. I have a few items that I can use to get my gear up to 415 but I am holding off on them for now until I go into kara because I sacrifice some dodge and stamina. I am trying to get revered with KoT for the tanking head enchant and the shoulder tanking enchant from aldor.

    One big item I need to get are the shoulder pads of assassination. I just have not had the time.

    Well that is how my build is going, you can check out my armory profile and email me if you want.

    Comment by Ecanem | May 30, 2007 | Reply

  2. quick note, my one ring is actually the wrong ring and should be iron band of the unbreakable. The ring thats on is the healer ring I tried on after our BM run and must have set it wrong in my outfitter mod. Thats why my defense is only 400, I thought it was usually around 410 as it would be with that other ring on.

    Comment by Ecanem | May 30, 2007 | Reply

  3. Wow. That makes me want to work for that badge as well as all the other things I’m trying to do…Exalted with Kurenai, neutral with Netherwing, friendly with Sha’tari Skyguard, third kara key frag, etc…

    Anyways, I should make a list of that stuff…I’ll get it eventually…Stupid science project has me backed up as well as having to memorize and monologue for theatre…

    Comment by Rebecca | May 30, 2007 | Reply

  4. Even though the Badge ( yes, capitalized! O.O ) is one of the hottest things you can get, I would still advice you to max out your defense. The armor goes a long way to mitigate the potential burst from crits and crushing blows, but for a healer there’s nothing more spooky than sudden spikes of damage, especially after a long streak of i.e. dodges ( though Moroes’ + Tenacity for example ). Might be a raiding perspective in particular, but it’s the impression I get from healers everywhere ( and from memories of my own healing-days ).

    Comment by Morghus | June 7, 2007 | Reply

  5. I do agree Morghus. And actually my primary interest in this piece IS the armor. In Bear form with full Thick Hide, that’s almost 1700 armor. Not bad for a trinket. I saw the use function as a bonus – maybe a panic button that could help relieve pressure on my healer if I was getting beat on badly.

    Comment by Amanna | June 7, 2007 | Reply

  6. My jaw literally dropped the first time I saw that tricket. Getting that Badge is in my top five things to do after hitting 70.

    Comment by Sinker | June 11, 2007 | Reply

  7. I think your friend had the right idea with getting the badge off the AH, however, they don’t seem to pop up at all on my server’s AH. Grinding the area does seem to be pretty decent cash though, so a combination of keeping an eye on the AH and grinding the area may work. The nether rays go down pretty fast to a cat druid, and are probably the easiest mobs in the area to grind. The rays are for a quest though, so keep that in mind if others in the area may need them.

    Comment by Marama | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  8. I’ve seen both a Depleted Badge and a Badge of Tenacity on my server recently, but only 3 times over the last 2-3 weeks.

    The one Depleted Badge I saw was going for around 2000G, and the two times I saw a full Badge of Tenacity, they were listed for 3000G and 2850G. So at least on my server it appears folks know what they have.

    Comment by Amanna | June 18, 2007 | Reply

  9. do the shartuul event and you get the badge ez mode maybe twice a month! i sold one for 1750 yesterday!

    Comment by dude | July 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

