Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Quick update, and some gear info

Not a lot to report lately – I’ve been very busy with RL stuff around the house and at work.  Didn’t do much over the weekend, but did tank a very successful run of Steamvaults last night – my first run through the instance and compliments all around on the job I did.  /Cheer Amanna!  I really didn’t find Steamvaults to be that difficult.  The hardest boss is the first and if you just keep running back and forth and stay out of her lightning strikes, then all is good.  We had a very odd group too – Me as tank, a hunter, a pally, and two priests.   Weird, but it worked.

Killing off the Warlord end-boss finally let me turn in The Warlord’s Hideout for my Helm of the Claw – a very nice kitty hat.

 On the gear front, The List is definitely being kept current.  I had expressed some hope earlier that Emmerald would keep it up to date, and he is hard at work getting 2.1 changes and gear into the list.  While it’s not complete, it has been updated with new stuff.  In particular, I noticed some new gear at the top of the Waist, Trinket and Feet lists for bear tanking (I haven’t had the time to run through it all yet).  Check it out on your own – you may find some good stuff.

Emmerald has also added a tab called “Bear High-Gear Mitigation”.  From reading comments on his forum, this is just in testing, but is intended to be gear ranked for raiding. 

Gotta go – Enjoy!!!

Forms Bar

June 6, 2007 - Posted by | Druid Gear, Online resources, World of Warcraft

11 Comments »

  1. Congrats on the SV run – I’ve yet to go in there with a group, but am dying to try it.

    Speaking of odd group composition: the weirdest run I’ve ever been on was also my most successful SL run ever. We ran the entire instance with only 3 wipes (bad pulls only, all bosses one-shotted) with: druid tank (me), balance druid, two priests, rogue.

    Comment by Andrew | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Helm of the Claw is a great helm and I am still using it for my dps set. You won’t find a better one outside of Karazhan unless you 1) are an engineer or 2) run a TON of heroics and have 50 Heroic Badges. Downed Prince for the first time last week so I’m really hoping for my T4 helm. Can’t wait!
    As for new tanking items, check out Tree-Mender’s Belt from Heroic Ramparts. It was a shotty healing belt pre-patch and is now the best tanking belt in the game imo. I’ve decided that there are some major things I disagree with in regards to “The Lists”. Emmerald shows +Agi & +Sta as as important if not more so than pure armor and I disagree with this to a point. Example: When I found the Dragonhawk Belt of the Monkey it was about 5 slots higher on the bear tanking list than Manimal’s Cinch so I trashed my Cinch not really thinking much about it. Now I realize the mistake I made and can never get it back. My belt is a level 70 green with some stamina and agility, where Manimal’s provides me with 1392 armor. >.

    Comment by Slipslappy (Icedown) | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Yes – I agree with you Slip. That’s the “good and the bad” of lists like that. It’s too easy to just take it on face value and end up doing something you regret. On the other hand, for a basic guide to narrow down our choices for us, I think it works very well.
    I tried to throw out some cautionary statements to that effect in my summaries, but I’ve fallen victim to The List too.
    For Bear tanking, I believe he focuses on Armor and Stamina and for Cat Sustained it’s Strength and Agility.

    Comment by Amanna | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. Looking at the list now, the belt I have WAS in the top 10 for tanking belts, and now it’s not even on the list. He’s obviously made some changes and the list is obviously a work in progress. Yes I agree with you Amanna, it has been a great help and I have already made my own “list” based off of his numbers, and mine are a tad different. For instance… Capacitus’ Cloak of Calibration provides 70.8AP in cat form, where Drape of the Dark Reavers from Kara only offers 58, but is higher on the list because of the +hit that I don’t need at all.

    Comment by Slipslappy (Icedown) | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. Slip, you can request to have an item restored. Just lodge a ticket in game. They’ll only let you do it a small number of times (and will ask you if you *really* want this item restored since there are a limited number of restorations you can request), but I don’t think there’s a particular time limit on it. I didn’t realise that I had deleted a particular piece of armor for about two weeks and then it took me another week or two until I discovered that you could ask to have it back. Once the GM responded to my ticket, it was only a matter of minutes until the item was sent back to me in the mail (complete with the gems I had socketed in it).

    It was, of course, sent COD since I had vendored the item. 😉

    Comment by Amandrel | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thank you Amandrel! I knew that, but plan on running off to get Tree-Menders anyway. The only time I asked a GM to restore an item was when I deleted my Rhok on my hunter when I got Dragonbreath off Chromie. It had been at least three months though and the GM I got was pretty much worthless. That’s one thing I hate about Bliz… either you get a nice GM who wants to help, or you get a moron who obviously just started there and was told to always tell you no. Unfortunately I’ve gotten more of the latter than the prior. 😦 Good news though, I got my second Skettis Band of the Grove tonite. 74AP per ring is sexy O.o

    Comment by Slipslappy | June 7, 2007 | Reply

  7. Wow Amandrel, that’s great. Unfortunately, I’ve had the complete opposite experience. I’ve asked twice to have an item restored and both times have been told that there is a time limit and I was past the time limit. The first time was for an item quite old, so I kind of understand that one. But the second time it was an item I had vendored only a couple weeks back. Both GMs I talked with were quite insistent that they could only restore very recent items.

    I guess it just depends on the GM you get maybe? Always worth a try though.

    Comment by Amanna | June 7, 2007 | Reply

  8. I think I’ve been lucky … I’ve only had good GM experiences so far. I know it had been quite some time since I vendored the item (my Shattrath Wraps) because I couldn’t even remember when I’d sold it. But you’re right Amanna, I think it’s always worth asking.

    Grats on the second band Slip! This blog has really made me want to explore my ‘inner Feral’ and I’m going to start working on a decent set of tanking gear so I can offtank in a pinch.

    Comment by Amandrel | June 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. 🙂 Amandrel come to Icecrown and I’ll make you the full Clefthoof set and a Stylin’ Purple Hat!!

    Comment by Slipslappy | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  10. Well I finnaly have all mats for Belt of Natural Power and am only waiting for someone tht can craft it (so far I hadn’t found one on my server) and has the 2 nether vortex. Then I’ll be a happy tanking bear 😛

    Comment by Nightravenn | June 9, 2007 | Reply

  11. Even better Night! We have a bunch of guilds on Icecrown who are in SSC right now, but never heard anyone annouce that they can craft. We transferred our High End Crafters list to WowWiki, might check to see if your server has one. http://www.wowwiki.com/Server:Icecrown/High_End_Crafting

    Comment by Slipslappy | June 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

