Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

The Big Time and an Apology

SPAM - Lots of itAdventures in Azeroth has hit the big time, just not the good big time.  I cleaned my spam out over the weekend, and went in to check it real quick after lunch here at work.  You can see what I saw to the left.  Over 400 spam messages in just a couple days. 

Turns out the spammers must really like World of Warcraft cuz lots of them tell me they really like my site.  Then there are the ones that say “Sorry :-(” at the start of their post.  Or the ones that think somehow they are tricking you with wording like “She came into the room and turned down the volume.  Immediately, the dog’s ears perked up.  She thought <sex link, sex link, sex link, sex link, etc. etc.> that was good.”  Hunh?

Then there are the posts that are empty with a link to some spam site as the poster’s address.  I’ve seen mortage sites, funeral homes, car rental places, it just goes on and on.

I guess that’s the price of fame, no?  😉

But there is one casualty of this escalation of spam that does make me feel bad.  Poor little Slipslappy of Icecrown seems to have all his comments flagged as spam.  Of course, he does have a tendency to put his armory link in as his address, but shouldn’t WordPress be able to distinguish a Night Elf Druid from the rest of the rabble?  A Night Elf Druid who just got his T4 helm, for gosh sakes!!!  Isn’t technology supposed to work for us???

Well Slippy, I can’t make it up to you (but hopefully WordPress will tell me what’s going wrong with comments), but I can post your last comment below.  Unfortunately, the best comment Slip made is lost forever.  In talking about that darn Badge of Tenacity, Slippy said we should all transfer to one server, start a Druid-only guild, and grind for it together.  Good idea, but who would play with us?  I mean – we’d rule the joint.  Of course, we’d all have to become engineers and make these for crowd control!

Without further ado, here’s slip’s last comment and a link to his Armory page.  Show him some Druid love…

http://armory.worldofwarcraft.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Icecrown&n=slipslappy

I can’t believe you lost my post! You are totally fired.   just kidding. No biggie, I think about 4 of my posts haven’t shown up on this site so it’s no biggie, I just figured you didn’t like me.  Oh! Got my T4 helm last night! 490 armor… lol it’s awesome. I have the gloves as well, but only use them when tanking so they won’t show on my armory page.

Here’s a pic from last week too. Was right before Netherspite in Karazhan. I nearly broke 40% crit and 3500ap. http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/9551/catapwh0.jpg

Forms Bar

June 26, 2007 - Posted by | Way off topic

3 Comments »

  1. 🙂 Thanks for the post!! I got my own Amanna love! But not gay love, not that that’s a bad thing… um nevermind.

    Yep, as soon as I take my armory link out of the website everything seems fine. So I’ll stop doing that from now on… fyi, it’s always been “saved” there, I don’t actually put it in there each time lol.
    And I can’t click wowhead links at home, but if that is the chicken thingy, I have it on my hunter and it’s crap. The three times I’ve used it the cc lasted no more than 6-8 seconds, with a long cooldown. Druids don’t need cc anyway, we just kill everything too fast.
    Thanks again for the post Amanna, and for everyone reading, just keep your armory site out of the “website” area and you should be good.

    Comment by Slipslappy | June 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. Dangit – I had this vision of a group of druids running around Sethekk – a bear, maybe a couple cats and a Moonkin along with a healer. We round a corner and see a group of 5 of those bird guys. In a twist of complete irony, we all unload our Gnomish Poultryizers and the bird guys all turn into… CHICKENS!

    Hehe, that makes me laugh just thinking about it. Actually the description of the item itself says it only lasts for a short while with a 5 min cooldown.

    Comment by Amanna | June 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. Just re-read my post and it should be “I can’t click wowhead links at work” not at home… lol

    Comment by Slipslappy | June 30, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

