Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Weekend Update 7/15 – CORN!

Living in the Midwest (Ohio) and growing up out in the country it’s hard not to like corn.  Its basically it’s own food group.  We weren’t farmers for a living, but with 40 acres, we always had a nice big garden with lots of corn.  I’m sure there are folks here and there that are born with a genetic defect such that they don’t like corn.  I am certainly not one of them – in fact fresh cooked corn on the cob is one of my favorite things.  This time of year, my diet will consist mainly of corn and fresh tomatoes.  I am very regular, ;-).

So yesterday at my wife’s family picnic, I got the first corn of the season – cooked in their husks in a pot of boiling water over a fire.  So that’s really the biggest update from the weekend, lol.

We saw a new record last Thursday, and I don’t mean the DJIA.  No, with an article on WoWInsider.com about my Gem Research Center, this blog saw it’s all time, single day page views record shattered getting 2,238 views.  I really appreciate the exposure from the WoWInsider folks as it makes me think there is some value to the gem page.  I have yet to get a single comment on it though, so I really don’t have a sense as to whether it’s helping you or not.  Obviously, if the stats stay active on the page, then people are coming back, so I’ll keep an eye on it.  I also found some other good gem sites whose links I’ll be adding to mine very shortly.

Lastly, I became aware of two new Druid blogs over the last few days – both non-feral.  Finally, some insight and discussion for you balance and resto druids.

The first is Resto4LIfe, a balance/resto druid blogger by the name of Phaelia.  Phaelia looks like she’s (he’s???) been blogging for a while and has lots of great information on the blog, which Amanna heartily approves of.  Who couldn’t love a blog that has spreadsheets, charts and equations?  This blog looks to be a fantastic resource for any balance/resto druid and I heartily recommend you check it out.

If you’re looking for a pure Balance insight, then check out Fiordhraoi’s (yea, I can’t pronounce it either.  Neither can BRK) Balance of Power blog.  This blog is just getting started, but there is already some good stuff there.  Plus, who wouldn’t want to read a blog written by a pure Balance Moonkin who is a guild leader?  Good stuff – Amanna approved.

That’s it for now.  I’m posting this early on Sunday morning, so if anything good happens tonight, I’ll update to let you know.  I hope you had a good weekend, and you’re not too grumpy now that it’s Monday morning.

Forms Bar

July 15, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft |

5 Comments »

  1. On the topic, i recently travelled to Turkey and tried for the first time BBQ’d corn.. previously my corn experience was purely some form of boiling. However the BBQing was a pleasant surprise!!! Very tasty!

    I have since taken that cooking sensation back with me to Australia, and it is not uncommon for my BBQs to involve not just the steak and garlic prawns, but also a few BBQ’d cobs!

    Comment by Taur | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Yea, we did that when I was a kid. We grilled them in their husks, but some folks husk them and lay them right on the grill.

    You can either take some of the exterior husks and silk off and then grill them. Or some folks just throw them in the coals as is. Some people put them in a pail of water beforehand to introduce a little more moisture so they almost steam while they are grilling.

    It is a very good taste – some smokiness along with the sweetness of the corn. YUMMY!

    Glad to hear you got to taste this delicacy, and brought it back home with you.

    Comment by Amanna | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. Barbecued corn is especially good if you soak them (in their husks) in a pot of salted water before grilling them. Then they’ll steam right in their own skins and pick up a bit of the salt, too. Yum.

    Thanks for the mention of my site. I am loving yours!

    Comment by Phaelia | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. Ohio, /wave, I grew up near columbus and am currently living
    in columbus now. I saw the corn comments and couldn’t help
    but sharing…

    We usually join up with a co-op and order a little in bulk but we get these “Certified Organic Just Corn” which is basically just freeze dried corn. I have a hard time keeping
    the kids out of it and the baby loves the flavor.

    Instead of being too hard/cruncy the freeze drying process
    leaves them airy/puffy and very tasty. I havn’t run across
    anyone yet that has tried it and hated it…

    Growing up we used to make corn fritters… just some pancake batter and toss in some sweet corn… add a little
    butter and a sprinkle of salt… Mmmmm

    Comment by eyesis | July 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. Mmmmmm Just bought a weeks supply of sweet corn!! The way I cook it, if I’m in a hurry, is by cutting the top 1″ off and tossing it in the microwave for 6 minutes.
    It’s better to boil or grill, but I simply don’t have the time when I’m at the office. I usually make myself two ears (8 mins in micro), shuck them then cut the corn into a bowl. Toss in some butter, salt and a dash of pepper and I’m a happy boy.

    Comment by Slipslappy | July 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

