Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Druid Add-ons

Hey, do you guys read or subscribe to WoW Insider?  I do, although since I check it at work there’s a lot of fluff I delete through.  Don’t get me wrong – they do a great job with lots of content to appeal to the varied readership I’m sure they have.  I just tend to be attracted more to the in-depth article vs. the short breakfast topics and shots around Azeroth.

So it dawned on me yesterday when I was reading the latest Shifting Perspectives, that I had yet to give a shout-out to this little corner of WoWI that focuses on Druids.  Two bloggers, Dan O’Halloran and David Bowers contribute to the column, which is completely about us, the most versatile, fun to play class in all of WoW.  I’m adding the Shifting Perspectives feel link to my blogroll with this post.

The latest column discusses some Druid-specific add ons you may want to consider.  In fact, after reading the article, I’m tagging this post with “Must have addons”.

The first set of addons addresses the issue of how to keep track of your mana bar when you are in a feral form.  Personally, I’ve never had a big problem with this.  I’m not sure if that makes me a crappy Druid since I rarely shift out to heal, or a great tank since I rarely need to.  No matter – it’s an issue.  David offers a couple solutions.  There doesn’t seem to be a clear winner on this one and your “best” solution may be more dependent on your current addon configuration.

The second class of addons he tackles though, is something I’ve really been struggling with especially in Outland.  Comparing gear is just getting out of hand for me.  Not only are we all carrying around multiple sets of gear, but with the item specialization in Outland and the great greenies available here and there – what to keep and what to DE isn’t that simple anymore.  David lays out a number of addons here, and ends up recommending two in particular:

  1. EquipCompare, which lets you see your equipped items’ tooltips right next to the tooltip of whatever you’re looking at, just like in the Auction House or on the Armory.
  2. DruidStats gives you a more direct look at what stats each item will give you after the various druid talents have been applied, so that you can judge its usefulness for yourself.

David gives a good overview of other tools along with their strengths and weaknesses for Druids.  This is the kind of honest, helpful information that keeps me coming back to WoW Insider. 

Check out the article, and if you haven’t subscribed or bookmarked the Shifting Perspectives column, take a second to do it now.

Forms Bar

July 18, 2007 - Posted by | Must have addons, Online resources, World of Warcraft

3 Comments »

  1. Amanna,
    I use to use DruidBar which put a mana bar on the screen that would show how mana you had in any form. It was useful, but being feral I rarely used my mana so I stopped using. Most of the time, I only watch my mana when I have to be switching between forms a lot. Hydross & Morogrim are a good example of a boss where a feral druid is constantly switching between cat and bear form, but mana pots FTW.

    As for the other addons, that compare items. I prefer to just have emmerald’s druid website up. I’ll just tab over to it and see where that item racks in terms of my current gear. This is mainly because as a druid we have to consider multiple roles and each role depends upon differnt stats.

    Bruennor

    Comment by Bruennor | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Downloaded DruidStats from the link provided and it seems to work well. If you are in bear form, it will show you how the items improve your tanking, if you are in kitty it will show ap and such in kitty form. Pretty cool.

    As a side effect however… from the moment I downloaded that addon from curse gaming I haven’t been able to visit the interenet from home. I tried Firefox, Opera and IE with no success. I keep getting a “Cannot connect to server” error. Running Spybot, Symantec and something else right now to see if there is anything going on with my computer, or if it’s my internet connection. >.<

    Comment by Slipslappy | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Another add-on you might want to consider is RatingBuster. It adds in-game stat comparisons and works within EQCompare. It shows what stat gains or losses an item will yield compared to your currently equipped item. I’m pretty sure it is also the mod responsible for converting ratings into percentages within EQCompare as well.

    One thing to remember is when comparing an un-gemmed item with a gemmed item you won’t get an accurate comparison, but you could do the math in your head.

    Comment by Faradwar | August 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

