Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Hey Amanna – where ya’ been?

I know, I know – it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything.  For those of you that read this blog on a regular basis, you know that my wife and I separated a few months back.  Well – we’ve worked a lot of things out and she has moved back in. 

/cheer

I’m happy and proud of both of us.   Relationships can be hard, especially for two people as stubborn as us.  Marriage is yet another step above relationships for some reason.  Anyone that tries to tell you that marriage is just a piece of paper and doesn’t change anything – don’t believe them.  It might not change everything, but it is definitely different than just dating or even living together.   We worked hard over the last month resolving issues, having uncomfortable discussions, being honest with each other – and now I think we have a better relationship and marriage than probably we ever have.

So now that we’re back together, we’re spending much more time together.  Over the last year or so, as things got worse and worse in our marriage, we both had time sinks that we used to be away from the other.  WoW was my main one.  Now that we are back together, not only do I want to spend more time with my wife, I also am working through how much I really want to play, if – GASP! – I want to play at all.

Two things:  for one, my wife equates this game with the “bad times”.  Times where I would spend entire weekend evenings up in my computer room playing.  Yes, yes, she spent the entire night watching TV, but there is a very bad taste in her mouth when it come to WoW that lingers.  But also, I find my interest in playing waning a bit.  I could just be in another slump or it could be the start of looking for a new challenge.  I historically have a very short attention span when it comes to computer games, and this is the longest I’ve played any game.  I still love the game, but the fact that it just never ends and all you get with each expansion and each patch is just some different artwork, different animations and the need to always get just one more piece of armor to raise that stat just a couple more points.  As we all know, it never seems to end and I may be questioning whether I want to stay on that treadmill.

I also came to grips with some life priorities.  Something both my wife and I re-affirmed as part of our process getting back together is that we need to be priority #1 in each other’s mind.  Sure, I’d love it if I married a computer gaming nut, but I didn’t.  So instead of getting all upset about it, I’ve accepted it, moved on, and need to put our marriage’s priorities ahead of my playing this computer game.  That doesn’t mean I can play games and have fun – it just has to be kept in perspective.  In return, she’s done the same when it comes to me.  Sounds simple, but it’s surprising how many people don’t approach relationships this way.  It really makes things so simple in a way.

So, I’m going to be doing a lot of reflecting over the next few weeks as to whether I want to keep playing this game or not.  At some point I may have a heart to heart with my wife also on the subject.  As a level 70 character currently working on Karazhan, I don’t feel that just playing a 1/2 hour or so everyonce in a while would be satisfying, so if I continue I am definitely looking to get some decent playtime for myself.  However, if I could get a couple nights a week that I could raid, then that might be enough.  Sure, I’d progress more slowly, but I’d be having fun and I’d still have my marriage.  😉

So, that’s where I’ve been.  I’ve been pleased to see that the blog is still getting over 1,000 hits a day, even without a post the last two weeks.  It looks like my annotated Kara attunement post is keeping the traffice up.  Anyway, kind of a personal post, but this is good life news and I wanted to share it with you all

Forms Bar

August 2, 2007 - Posted by | Way off topic

13 Comments »

  1. Guess that’s great news for you, and crappy news for us. We need you to have no life at all, and just play WoW all the time.
    Honestly though, congrats on figuring things out. Reconsiling is always better than divorce, and big fights like this usually open your eyes to what you truly want in life. I, too, have wondered what I am doing playing this game, and how much of my life I am going to literally waste sitting at my computer clicking mouse buttons and typing people I’ll never meet. Hopefully you find a good balance and you and your wife never again forget why you married each other.

    Comment by slipslappy | August 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. Congradulations! That is great news! It’s awesome that you guys put forth the effort to try to work things out rather than take the easy way out. My wife and I have had a lot of evenings just like you described (her watching TV and me playing WoW) and in the past was a real problem. It’s all about the balance like slipslappy said. If you still want to play the game a couple nights a week then she will (hopefully) respect that as long as the other times are spent together. It’s a lot better (and cheaper!) than say taking up golf and being gone 5-6 hours a day on Saturday and Sunday!…that doesn’t work either lol.
    Anyways, love the site. It’s been a tremendous help to my druid. Good luck!

    Comment by Jethro | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. Great news! I hope that you will continue to grow closer in your relationship again. Always put those life priorities first! Those will impact your life forever where this game or anything that can take your time away from your family is only temporary.

    Comment by Floppolock | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. I have no life and have found your postings very helpful. However, when its time to quit its time to quit. Now seems like a good time for you.

    If you do keep playing, do it for money. If your site gets 1000 hits a day, you could advertise on it and make some cash. Then playing is a part time job, as it provides you with content to fill your site.

    Better course is to just quit, though. I hope you have a happy marriage and that I never hear from you again.

    Comment by original gankster | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. Grats on the 1000 hits. I am going the ad route also why not make money from something you love to do.

    Comment by ezell | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  6. Take a break from WoW and your blog e.g. for one month. You can’t really decide what to do while playing. Maybe the blog puts pressure on you to play and to keep posting ?

    Comment by Frank | August 5, 2007 | Reply

  7. Good for you! I wish you all the best.

    Comment by gamermommy | August 5, 2007 | Reply

  8. Can I have your stuff?

    Comment by Jondar | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  9. Hi,
    Great to hear that you have reconciled with your wife! I am glad to see you set a great example to people with non-gaming partners. I fully understand how you feel and I hope you continue your great work on your site! 🙂

    Comment by Awrakso | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  10. I’m a pretty new regular reader of yours, considering I am a new druid that just hit L40. Loved your writings! Last few days have been quiet, but good to see something new up.

    Anyways, I realize WoW can be very addictive. People might say you have no life playing online-games-and-even-paying-for-it. It is true that WoW is another set of virtual life. However, you definitely know your priorities. Life comes first. Wife comes first. Family first. 😀

    In the end, 5-10 years down the road, I believe what you would really cherish if someone loving beside you and not your cute Bear with epic L200 items. 😀 (lol, if we actually get to L200).

    It is hard — but I say, quit WoW. Perhaps at least for a few months. Once you sort out your time, priorities and gotten on open terms with your wife – then maybe back to WoW with specific days of the week! If not, you will just be as sucked into WoW as before. Especially with the introduction of new dungeons, guild bank, voice chat … and perhaps 2008 WotLK xpack …. man, I tell ya, it is hard not to get addicted and excited.

    Comment by aDk | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  11. I would dump Wow… matter of fact I am considering that myself… I have played this game long enough to see that
    there isn’t anything new/spectacular that I will miss.

    I have been in family run guilds, friendship guilds, etc…
    and had a good taste of what wow had to offer… I have always played Wow at night after the kids were asleep.. sometimes even with the wife… Yes she plays a bit too…

    Though I know she would be just as happy reading a book with me sitting next to her trying to learn my new guitar (though I am a drummer at heart)… lol. I just got back from a trip to Canada for the yearly cyberjammin.com moestock 6… wow what a blast… My point… well… I
    haven’t touched wow in about two weeks now and I don’t miss
    it at all.

    Boot it and go do something else… my only problem is what to play next with the wife… :p We are both gamers… and Wow was fun… just not so much fun playing that game anymore. Anyone have game suggestions?

    Comment by Eyesis | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  12. Candyland is the only game to turn to once WoW is out of your life.

    Comment by slipslappy | August 15, 2007 | Reply

  13. Honestly though, go get a PS3 or a Wii and just have fun. Those games actually “END” and you actually have realistic goals that you can achieve in a reasonable time frame. Tiger Woods’ Golf would take a couple months to master and there are tons of other games that are just as addicting, yet much more easy to walk away from.
    imo, online games where you create friendships can just be too much.

    Comment by slipslappy | August 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

