Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

My ole’ friend Slipslappy asks a question…

So, I write a post a couple days ago in which I wonder if anyone out there misses me, to which only Slipslappy responds.  I’m not real sure if that means no one actually does miss me, or if I just haven’t posted in so long that everyone took my blog out of their readers.  The blog is still getting over 1,000 page views a day, although a lot of that traffic is hitting my Kara attunement guide

It’s hard to get a sense of what’s going on from WordPress stats as I’ve come to mistrust them a bit.  My “I’m not dead” post only got 8 hits today so far according to WordPress, but the last link in the post was hit 18 times.  Now, momma didn’t raise no dummy, I know there isn’t a 1:1 correlation between a post view and a link hit, but 8 to 18 seems pretty high. 

So, I’m not sure what’s going on.  Nor do I care.  I’m trying to get a marriage back together and that takes some time. 

But Slip asked a pretty good question: “Do you miss your Druid”?

The short answer?  Hell ya, I do!

The longer answer?  Things have changed.  I definitely feel the itch to play, but not like I did before.  This game can definitely be addicting.  Add to that, a bad relationship where both parties were looking for things to occupy their time so they didn’t have to spend time with each other, and it became even more of a time-filler.  Now that my wife and I are back together and have worked many issues out, that “must play to avoid wife…” feeling is gone obviously, but something else happened.  I can’t quite put my finger on it, but that sense of urgency and feeling like you had to play is mostly gone too.  Not that I want to play, or enjoy playing, just a subtle realization that there are much more important things in life than Cenarion Expedition rep or Moroe’s Lucky Pocketwatch.

Again – don’t get me wrong.  I definitely want to get back to playing Amanna, I just don’t need to.

But when I think about playing again I bump up against my other issue which is how I will play.  I certainly won’t be on for 3-4 hours 5 nights out of the week.  That just won’t fly with The Mrs.  And honestly, I’m not sure I want to play that much anymore.  But when I do play, I want it to be focused and productive; either pounding out group quests, grinding rep / running instances, or raiding.  And my current guild just isn’t much help on any of these.

My guild leadership are nice folks and I certainly don’t want to bad-mouth them here.  We have little to no guild-drama, everyone is allowed to play how they want, and by and large most folks in the guild are pretty helpful.  But they aren’t a fit for these reasons:

  1. Raid schedule is Thursday through Saturday.  I could possibly make a Thursday, but weekends are for family.  So, all I would ever be able to make is first night of a raid.  I would really like a guild where I could raid Monday and Tuesday night, which are much more do-able nights for me as we almost never have anything going on.
  2. My guild is very laid-back.  I used to think that was a good thing, until I started raiding with them.  Whereas casual, laid-back game play is good, casual, laid-back raiding is bad.  At least to me.  I want a guild where I can approach raiding with a more business-like approach: everyone shows up on time, everyone has their pots and buffs and equipment is appropriately repaired, we start on time, we don’t screw around with trash mobs, etc.  I don’t want to lose the fun, but you can be effecient and still have fun.
  3. My guild has gotten a bit too big.  Last time I was logged in and someone joined, our guild leader said that put us over 500 members.  I don’t mind a big guild, and I’ve been in it long enough that I know most of the guild leadership, but I think a big guild becomes a bit cliquey and it’s hard to get anyone focused on specific tasks.  I’d love to find a small group of folks that all worked together to move everyone forward in the guild equally. 

So, when I think that through, all I can come up with is I need to be in a different guild that matches what will most likely be a very different approach to playing WoW.  I have absolutetly no experience in researching guilds, nor do I know a ton of people that play (other than bloggers).  That task alone has kept me from logging back on very much, not to mention that I haven’t brought the topic up to my wife yet again.   We’re going away this weekend to celebrate our anniversary, so maybe when we get back.

Just rambling on, not really trying to make a point or ask for input.  However, if anyone out there has experience finding a new guild, OR someone is currently in a guild that sounds like what I’m looking for and you’re looking for an “above-average” feral druid (with their own blog), then let me know.  I do hope to start playing again soon, but with the limited time I’ll have it has to be worthwhile.

Forms Bar

August 30, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

16 Comments »

  1. I think my guild could be what you are looking for. If you want to reroll Horde and PvP lol. We could always use more quality people.

    Comment by Brandstone | September 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. If we weren’t totally swamped with Feral Druid applicants (where did all the Trees go), I would heartily recommend our guild to you. Alas, we are looking at adding 2-3 more in the next little while in addition to the one we already have. =/

    Comment by Phaelia | September 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. My guild raids Tuesday, Thursday, Friday. Karazhan on farm, High King down, Gruul to 13%, just don’t have the dps or mana pools to down him fast enough.
    I would invite you in a second, but there would be some issues that would need to be addressed. Raiding 2 out of 3 nights will put you at 66% attendance, which would put you at our “casual raider” category, and you would be able to bid on items only after the full time raiders are not interested. We have two feral druids that are full time raiders, and we have pretty much everything we want out of Karazhan, and we are in the process of gearing up a new warrior, but other than that all of the loot would probably be yours for the taking. I’m still waiting for Shade to drop my ring, and Illhoof to drop my stupid cape, but other than that I’m good in there.
    My guild, Immortal Redemption, consists of mostly adults. Kids don’t really feel like they fit in and eventually stay to grab a big epic then /gquit right after that. It’s something we have to deal with, but I’m sure we’re not the only guild. We are a very casual guild, with a solid chunk of hard core raiders. If you want to pay for the server transfer, I believe you would truly enjoy it with us. Check out our website http://www.immortalredemption.com
    Forums are fun over there 🙂
    I highly recommend the “Boss Chat” post of mine. It’s really old, but I wanted to bring it back for all the new guildies.
    http://www.immortalredemption.com/viewtopic.php?t=2571

    I’m very glad everything is working out well in your personal life Amanna. Congrats on your anniversary!!

    Comment by Slipslappy | September 2, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hey Amanna, yes your postings are missed! Although in most cases i’d say people would rather read than write up a validation for you 🙂

    Regarding raiding/playing, i play 3 nights a week to keep my wife happy, and that works out fine in my guild and still allows me to hit kara with some frequency. We’re nailing Prince, almost got Netherspite, so for a medium-sized guild we are doing pretty well.

    One thing we’ve struggled with is trying to get two kara raids going to allow some of the casual players a go and geared up for Gruuls… its really hard to get enough healers for the runs! Having said that, we’ve found feral druids (with the right gear… lots of mp5) can do really well at filling in the healing spots! We’ve managed to clear up to the Shade with a pally and two druids (resto and feral) healing!

    Comment by Taur | September 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hola! I come to your blog via BRK since I have recently rolled a druid and wanted to do some reading up on the class. If you are interested our guild sounds appropriate for you – we have a Kara group B that runs on Tuesday nights. We are efficient and organised in our raiding but otherwise a laid back guild. We only ask that if say you will be there you are there, not that you commit the rest of your life and your first born to the raid schedule. Look us up if you are interested – Drunken Badgers on Feathermoon – Alliance 🙂

    Comment by Jezrael | September 5, 2007 | Reply

  6. @slipslappy: The “you can’t roll on x items because you’d only have 66% attendance” is one reason a lot of people can’t deal with guilds like yours.

    The guy said in his post that he’s a family man who could make it to two raids a week. Getting any sort of regular WoW time when you have a family is a difficult thing, so his “66% raid attendance” is a big time investment from his point of view. And you know since he’s an adult and family man he’s not going to raid with you once or twice, get his epics and /gquit. He’s not a kid.

    So I would just suggest, for you and other guilds who have seemingly concrete and dictatorial rules about who can and can’t roll on certain items, that you take time to look at things from the perspective of people who have serious jobs and families among other demands on their time, and reward the mature, adult players who still find time to raid despite their schedules.

    If you did that, you’d certainly find yourself dealing with fewer kids, immaturity and drama in your guild.

    Comment by Ash | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  7. You’ve got the right attitude – family and relationships first. Having cut back on WoW for similar (though thankfully not as severe) reasons, I find myself in the same place. Sure, I’d still like to play, but the pull just isn’t the same. I’m not even sure what I would do with just a few hours a couple of times a week – thats not exactly a great schedule for serious raiding.

    If you can find a guild that takes raiding seriously in terms of showing up prepared, starting on time, and moving at a good pace, AND regularly has space in their raids for casual players, AND has an agreeable loot system (which is going to vary from person to person), congratulations, you’ve won the guild lottery.

    Comment by Vesper | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  8. Ash,

    I wish we could do that. And you are 100% correct about Amanna. My guild has been around since the beginning of WoW, and we have attempted to be less strict in regards to earning/spending points. Since BC came out we dropped all rules and simply geared up everyone possible via Karazhan. Now that we are on HK, Gruul & Maggie, we are reimplementing our old point system with minor changes. We have ranks based on attendance and distribute loot via those ranks. The highest attendance people will get the loot first, as they are around the most to help the guild the most. Gearing people up who raid once a month does not help us progress as much as gearing someone up who raids every raid. It’s just a simple fact.

    Comment by Slipslappy | September 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. One thing that happens when you scale down the play time is that all those “Gimme boost” guys becomes more annoying. I’ve scaled down.. no more raiding, hardly no instancing except certain times and instead I find myself more and more in the battlegrounds…

    Comment by Hexapuma | September 10, 2007 | Reply

  10. Amanna,

    I have been reading and enjoying your work on this website for about 3 months now, thank you. I first started reading when I got to about lvl 54 or so and you were on your way through the mid 60s. My son and I play together (he’s 17) and this is our second pair of lvl 70 characters, Feral Druid and Shadow Priest – horde. The first pair were almost identically geared beastmaster hunters. Good guys for levelling but in endgame, nobody really wants two hunters in the group so we started this very viable group team. Your site and the links to other druid sites, particularly those that talk about obtainable gear, is one of the main reasons I still play my druid instead of my hunter. I feel that I have a roadmap and a plan on how to gear that I did not have with my hunter, plus it’s a snap to get a group as a tank.

    This past weekend I got some awesome stuff done! Ran the Arcatraz and got that key fragment AND the Seer Udaldo quest done which put me in line for the Verdant Gloves (my son and I two manned that 5 man quest). That added 240 armor points over my previous gloves and you know what that does in dire bear (with survival of the fittest 3)!! Managed to beat the Black Morass kara key quest which not only gave me 1600 rep with keepers of time, but completing the Medv quest gave an additional 8000 rep with keepers which means I’m only 3k away from revered and getting the defense enchantment to my stylin purple hat. PLUS after farming for the depleted badge for 8 hours or more and not getting it, I logged on with my auction guy on Sunday morning and lo and behold there was a Badge of Tenacity up for sale so I paid the 1100 bucks (gold) for it and considered myself EXTREMELY lucky to do so! Even got in a few successful steamvaults runs in and am now only 10K rep with Cenarion Expedition away from exalted and my Earthwarden. The only thing that could have been even better would have been if I could have succeeded in heroic Sethekk Halls and gotten my Epic Flight Form quest done… All this is because of the roadmap that you and the other druid sites have laid out for me to absorb and adopt. Which brings me to my suggestion.

    I know that your time is more limited and you are on cooldown from raiding but there’s a ton of other stuff to do that you can do in small snippets. I know that you want your elite flight form and a badge of tenacity too, but they require large amounts of gold. Fortunately you have the right skills to earn that gold in mining and herbalism. As little as a half an hour sweep through a zone can earn you 30-50 gold in gathering skills and even a little more if you do that while you knock out a quest at 10-15 gold. Make yourself an auction guy and park him in a main city with an auction house (almost said Orgrimmar) and just mail all the stuff to him to sell. Which brings me to another thing to raise gold. I use auctioneer and sometimes I’ll log on for only 10 minutes to just scan the auction house to build up my database of average prices and find good deals to buy and turn around. I’ve always liked the auction house aspect of the game being a HUGE ebay fan. You get the victories of buying low and selling high like on ebay but without having to risk real money!!

    I know I’m starting to ramble and I appreciate anybody who is still reading. There’s one more thing I want to mention as a possibility. Jump into a 2 man arena team. The charter is 80 gold, you need a minimum of 10 matches a week for the team, of which each member has to participate in at least 30% to get award points. At the end of the week all participating members get the same award points based on the team’s performance. We just started and only won like 20% of our matches and still got 239 arena points. Doesn’t sound like much but the entire arena druid set only costs like 8400 points. You’d earn the entire set in 35 weeks which is a long time, but the matches only take about 2 to 3 minutes per match including que time so you can knock all matches out in a short time and I think you can bank the points until the next arena season if you don’t spend them. And you have to see the arena gear for druids to believe it!

    Hope this wasn’t too long and I hope you don’t think I’m trying to jeopardize your rekindled relationship with your wife. I’m a family man too with a wife and 3 kids so I understand the balancing act between wanting to play and wanting to spend family time. But there are still cool things that can be done under a budgetted wow time schedule if you’re interested.

    Either way, Good luck in your adventuring, wow and otherwise!!

    Comment by Beardown | September 17, 2007 | Reply

  11. Great post Beardown. One thing to mention… Hit honored with Ogri’la asap. Read up on the Shartuul Transporter Event and master it. You are guaranteed a depleted item or an epic when you win. So far I have gotten a ridiculous amount of depleted items, and two badges which sell for 1300g on my server. The ring is worthless, the mace and dagger both sell for 200g, the staff, 2h axe and sword sell for about 150g. The epic cloth bracers would be great for your son, and the epic mail gloves are awesome for your hunters. They also sell for 300+ gold. I’ve completed the event about 50 times in a row now and it is almost a joke once you get it figured out and master it.

    A couple links for you to research:

    Wiki: http://www.wowwiki.com/Shartuul's_Transporter_(event)
    My guild: http://www.immortalredemption.com/viewtopic.php?t=2559&highlight=
    Another guild on my server. Highly recommend reading this as well as my comment further down. http://avatarsofdiscord.org/forum/showthread.php?t=4046

    Comment by Slipslappy | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  12. Beardown – I haven’t written much lately, but I do want to take the time for your great comment. I really appreciate it. And not so much for the suggestions, but the intention behind the suggestions. Thank you. 🙂

    At this point, I think my decision is more “do I play at all or not” vs. trying to figure out how to play less. I’ve never been a big pvp fan, and while there are plenty of small quests and adventures out there, I do really enjoy the raiding.

    The issue becomes it is hard to raid part time, as you know. In my mind, I think you need 3 nights a week min to be successful. Even if I don’t raid every week, and raid on weekday nights vs the weekend, that’s still a hefty committment. I believe it can be done, but finding a group that supports that, feels the same way, AND is a decent raiding group is a challenge.

    Plus, I must admit having not played in a month or so, I’ve lost a bit of the “have to play” mentality. At this point, I would be okay walking away from WoW. I still enjoy it, but have reconnected with other priorities in life. If I could find a great guild, that was serious about raiding but allowed for life priorities, then I would try to work that out with my wife. Until then, I’m not sure what my future looks like.

    Good luck to you and your son. A feral druid and shadow priest is a great combo. Unfortunately, I don’t have any kids or you know they would all be playing! I think approached the right way, with the right boundries, WoW can be a good family activity.

    Once again – thank you for the comments, I really appreciate them.

    Comment by Amanna | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  13. Slip – great links.

    I want a depleted badge.

    /sniff

    Comment by Amanna | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  14. Hey, found you via BRK (all hail). Anyway i’m in a somewhat similiar position; I have to decide if I want to leave my current guild, which as second in command I’m basically running the place, or start a new guild, or join this other guild which looks fun. Anyway, no big deal for me. Good luck with life, seems like you got life/WoW balance better.

    Comment by Rob | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  15. Got another badge tonite Amanna 😛
    The Shartuul event has gotten my priest her mount money all by itself. I can’t emphasize enough how great it is to master.

    Comment by Slipslappy | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  16. I believe the issues you see with the wordpress stats are that page views to the “main” page of your blog are not counted toward reading the most recent post (or any of the other posts on that page). You only get a count for that story when someone looks at it specifically.

    I’ve noticed the same thing in my blog where I get hits, but I don’t see them show up on the posts. My older posts get the most hits, but that is because they have fallen off the front page.

    Comment by Fimlys | September 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

