Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

LOL – Welcome Bartenders

I can always count on a big spike in hits after a major patch.  Everyone is searching for help on setting up action bars.  I got about a 30% or higher number of hits yesterday, with most of them finding my post on setting up Bartender 3.  I still stand by Bartender 3 and really haven’t done anything to it since setting it up a while back.  So if you follow the guide and get it set up once, you should be good to go for quite a while.

 Just to reiterate, I switched to Bartender from Bongos due to persistent form switching issues with Bongos.  I’ve since read that there is a new version of Bongos out which I suppose I should try.   I’m really hesitant though to try a new setup since Bartender is still working so good.

Anyone out there using Bongos 2 and willing to offer a review and/or setup guide?  I would pay handsomely (read: no money, but immortal fame and glory from the credit you would get for the post 🙂 ).

Forms Bar

September 26, 2007 - Posted by | Interface Add-ons, World of Warcraft

10 Comments »

  1. Bartender3 lost its luster for me last night. While paging on shift or stealth changes the button icons, it no longer seems to change the button actions to their appropriate state. Apparently 3.1.2 is coming out soon with fixes.

    However, I just installed the new bongos2 (1.8.something), and am thrilled with it. The setup is a bit weird, the right-click menus are not intuitive to me, but it only took about 10 minutes of pseudo-random clicking to get it behaving exactly as Bartender3 did pre-2.2. The default button look is seriously fugly, but Blizzard is to blame for that. Install cyCircled for happy-fun-time buttons.

    Now if I could just figure out which $#^$%$ add-on is borking my bags….

    Comment by Thermocline | September 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. Your bags are screwed up because of Item Rack. Download the newest version from http://www.wowinterface.com

    As for barmods, I’ve used them all, and have decided I like TrinityBars the best. I’ve never had an issue with any form switching at all.

    Comment by Slipslappy | September 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. Never found any problems with Bartender. Been one of the most stable addons I’ve come across so far. Bongos had stuff I didn’t need, so I didn’t bother keeping it, otherwise I’d love to share my settings 😉

    Comment by morghus | September 29, 2007 | Reply

  4. Amanna/Guys,

    First off, delete my previous post, it’s a boo boo.

    I have some very basic questions and game issues that I’d like to get a handle on and maybe become a little more adept at playing this game. Up until now I’ve used the WOW icon bars, assigning them in a logical order so that I can usually start off my attacks with the ‘1’ key, 2, etc. Since I’ve been playing in Karazhan with this new guild, (still too new to the guild to be considered for most drops, but at least I’m getting violet eye rep) and my son and I have already accompanied them on a Gruul downing as well as getting spanked by the Lurker in SSC, I find that some of the VERY useful addons like “Bossmods” and “Omen/ktm” are helpful in keeping me from looking like a total NUB. That and keeping the raid window open on my screen to see the status of all the players, in case I can help a downed comrade with a battle res. Unfortunately that eats up alot of my screen window so I’m thinking about using a bar mod like Bartender to free up viewing area. I don’t know how you play, but I use the W A S D for motion (after rewireing the A & D keys to sideslip instead of rotate) and holding the right mouse button and moving the mouse for direction and perspective. I’ve rewired my Q and E keys (since they’re not strafe anymore) to do some of my opening attacks all while moving forward with W. So for example in cat mode, I will hit “e” which will take me to stealth, using the W key to move forward while modifying my direction with the mouse, when I’m close I hit the ‘q’ key which is pounce. Then when I’m out of stealth, 1 is mangle, 2 is the one that bleeds over time and F1 is faerie fire and 3 and 4 are my finishing moves, the DOT and the Stun one. I can trigger all of them all the while holding W. My question is, is that what you guys do? Or do you just use wasd for movement AND direction and use the mouse to click other action buttons?

    The other think I wanted to talk about are the Battleground gear that I’ve garnered in just a few weeks, playing mostly during the weekends when honor is doubled. And Amanna, I’m not trying to convert you to bg’s cause I know you don’t like them, but just consider this. I’ve bought my Veteran’s Leather Bracers already and have saved up enough honor and tokens for either the Veteran’s Leather Belt or the Veteran’s Leather Boots. If you don’t believe how good that gear is check out where it’s at on the Bear and Cat lists. I’ve also saved up about 740 out of the needed 1875 arena points needed to get a Gladiator’s Dragonhide Helm, and once again you have to see the stats on it to believe it! Also I’ve found that (duh) as my gear gets better I do better and have more fun in both bg’s and arena play, to the point where I actually enjoy it instead of viewing it as a means to an end.

    Talk to you all later and I’m anxious to hear how you all control your characters.

    Comment by Beardown | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. Beardown, you could consider remapping your buttons to esdf, which would leave you alot more buttons available if you’re up to the task. I haven’t, but I know a few that have.

    What you can do is pretty simple actually. Macros.
    Let’s say you’re in cat-form, and you need to compress a bit:
    Maim/Stealth
    /cast [nostealth,nocombat] Prowl; [nostealth,combat] Maim

    Shred/Ravage
    /cast [nostealth] Shred; [stealth] Ravage

    Rake/Enrage/Nature’s Grasp
    /cast [stance:1] Enrage; [stance:3] Rake;[nostance] Nature’s Grasp

    Another, a bit more specialized one – Faerie Fire in all forms, Innervate on friend of yourself if Alt is pressed, or no target.
    /cast [nostance, harm] Faerie Fire; [stance:1/3, harm] Faerie Fire (Feral)(Rank 5); [nostance, target=playertarget,help] Innervate; [nostance, target=player,modifier:alt] Innervate;[nostance, target=player] Innervate

    There’s a million things you can combine in different ways, but the one thing I recommend above all else is to categorize your buttons as best you can, and that’s done very easily through macros. Placement of skills is also a good thing.

    I thought about removing Q and E as strafe buttons, but I found early on that when I could have been pressing just Q, instead of A and E, I was sorely limited in my button-mashing. It’s hard to access 1, 2, and 3 when you’re using all your fingers on two buttons.

    Comment by morghus | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  6. Beardown,

    Read my article on installing Bartender – I have some screenshots and try to free up window real estate just like you, while trying to maintain at least some sanity and not have 82 add-ons to update every patch.

    I’m not big into macros yet, but probably will be there once I start playing again.

    Grats on the PvP gear and the Gruul down. Sounds like fun and I can’t wait to get back in there…

    Comment by Amanna | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  7. Bear, I have found that PerfectRaid is the best mod out there for raiding. CT sucks imo, and I can’t stand Grid. If you donwload that and get it setup, you will never look back again.
    I don’t use a lot of macros on my druid personally. I use a ton on my shadow priest and hunter, but haven’t really found the need for tanking/kitty dps.
    Just a note… I’m not sure how far your guild has progressed, but if they are downing Gruul, then they are probably clearing Karazhan. If that is the case, then you should have access to your T4 helm off Prince shortly. I would personally save your arena points for the chest piece instead, as there are probably a lot more guildies who still need their T4 off of Maggs. Not sure, but that is the situation I am in and I went for the arena chest which is amazing. Just don’t want you to blow all of your arena points on the helm, then get the Malorne a couple weeks later.

    Comment by Slipslappy | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hmm thats very strange. I haven’t had any problems with bartender at all.

    Comment by world of warcraft leveling guide | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  9. Some excellent ideas, thanks guys!

    Morghus, I am definitely going to do a macro for my ‘e’ key. In cat form, ‘e’ will take me to stealth like it already does, but in the stealth stance ‘e’ again will do pounce as my opener freeing up my ‘q’ key for maybe mangle. That way the keys will be right under my fingers if I continue to use the ‘w’ for forward motion and keep me off the number keys where I’ll put my finishing moves (in cat). Also it might not be a bad idea to start using both mouse buttons to move me forward since I already use the right mouse button to control my direction.

    Slipslappy, I’m going to definitely install PerfectRaid, thanks! And I’ll wait for the T4 helm to drop. As it turns out, I’ve identified 3 pieces of Battlegrounds gear that I want and am getting (veteran’s leather Belt, Bracers and maybe Boots) and about 4 pieces of Arena gear that I’d like (Gladiator’s Dragonhide Chest, Hands, Shoulders and maybe the Maul although that is like 3850 points, but it’s insane dps). All that gear represents a large amount of calendar time as I usually only get about 250 points per week. If I can save time by not getting the helm, better yet! Actually I’ve participated in killing Prince once already, but I didn’t have the quest for it which I do now. Just a little story, the raid leader was debating bringing me along for dps since my Attack power was only around 2000 then, but it must have been my sparkling personality that won them over. They wanted a warlock. When one of the massively geared warriors dropped during the combat and I promptly combat resurrected him and we went on to beat Prince (after wiping the first attempt) I said in vent, “let’s see your warlock do that!” Haha, see told ya, sparkling personality!

    I also anticipate that since I’m enjoying battlegrounds more, I will bank Honor points and tokens with this guy so that after the next expansion and my march to lvl 80, I’ll already have some points to spend on what I hope will be bear/cat premiere gear and be ahead of the power curve.

    Take care, guys.

    Comment by Beardown | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  10. i personaly like using Zbar. its got a nice little feature, when you, push alt, it will move to your 2nd page, or when you have a friendly selected same thing. so i have all my damage/feral on my regular bar, and healing on 2nd bar
    just click on a mate and you have your heals ready, or hold down alt, when you want to heal yourself real fast.

    and it has a hide when not in combat or not selecting a enemy feature on some bars, which is nice if you dont want your screen cluttered all the time.

    Comment by zavior | February 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

