Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Comments feed, and Feedburner comments

Finwe leaves a comment on the last post about add-ons saying he/she just started using Google reader and wondered if I have a feed for comments.  I wasn’t sure about that one, though I was reasonably sure I remembered seeing something about that when I first setup on WordPress.

Well, sure enough WordPress provides a feed solely for comments left, which I have added to the sidebar to the right.  It’s a great catch by Finwe as a lot of the best content on this blog is the great comments left by all you readers.  By subscribing to the comment feed, you don’t have to keep coming back to the actual blog and hitting multiple posts you’re interested in.  Of course, we love to see the page view stats go up, but this is way more convenient.  The comments feed looks to be pretty self-explanatory in that the post title is included with the comment.

Thanks Finwe.

Now – a little explanation why I’m using Feedburner feed links instead of just the standard WordPress feed. 

Feedburner, for those of you not familiar with it, is an online service that offers tons of ways to analyze, publicize and monetize your feed(s).  It’s really simple to use, and setting up the various services are really easy also.  Most of them you simply click the service or option you want, and an html code snippet pops up in a box.  Copy and paste the code to your blog, website, forum signature, E-Mail, etc. and you’re done.  Running your blog feeds through Feedburner gives you extra stats and visibility on how your blog is being accessed and used.

So why is Amanna using Feedburner for Adventures in Azeroth???  Is she planning on being the next Internet IPO? 

Hardly.  It’s actually a lot more simple than that. 

I recently switched jobs at my employer.  For many years I was their Director of IT and just recently was asked to fill the role of Director of Entrepreneurial Services.  In both jobs, I provide input and guidance on the use of various technologies to satisfy strategic business objectives.  From a sales and marketing perspective, the web is a fantastic channel to advertise and promote your business. 

When I first started this blog, it wasn’t solely for the love of the game, it was also an experiment to learn what this blogging phenomenon was all about and how to apply it to real business problems.  See, I’m one of those “learn through doing” kind of people.  I’ve had a great time posting on this site, it’s been very rewarding watching the blog grow, and I’ve learned a lot along the way.   When I tell white collar business types that I have a personal blog that averages over 1000 views a day, their eyes almost pop out of their heads.  Most of them would kill for that kind of exposure for their company.

So the reason I am using Feedburner is the same philosophy.  The Feedburner toolset has a lot to offer businesses looking to promote on the web and the best way to evaluate the services is to use them myself.   I’m using the Feedburner toolset not only on this blog, but the website of the Entrepreneurial Incubator Collaborative that I am a part of (and just switched to a WordPress blog).

Right now, I’m pretty much using just basic features of Feedburner, but may branch out into some of the more advanced tools along the way.  My early impressions are that the services are extremely easy to use, but can be overly-branded by Feedburner.  I guess that’s the price you pay for free services!  All in all, if you are looking for promotional tools for your blog, I heartily recommend checking out Feedburner.

So, thanks again Finwe for the comment, and I hope you all enjoy the new feed.

Forms Bar

October 5, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft |

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve heard of Feedburner quite a bit since I started blogging but never actually used it myself because I had always thought that the WordPress feed would suffice. This post, however, has sparked my interest.

    The word “monetize” jumped out at me ^^ and I was just wondering if the option to do so follows the WordPress rules and regs because if it does, I would jump at the chance to add it to my site. Although I think I’ll be looking into it more anyway strictly for the blog promotion you talked about 🙂

    Comment by girliegeek | October 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Nice article. And a fast response. I’ve added the Comments feed to my reader.

    FYI, I probably hit your website a couple times a week just referencing the bear and cat gear posts.

    Comment by Finwe | October 8, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

