Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Guild drama hits home. Sort of.

I got serious over the last week or so logging on to get back into the swing of things.  Not quite ready to starting raiding multiple nights a week, but I did want to knock out some quests (STILL not crowned Queen of the Ogres), get used to my new UI and keybindings and just generally have some fun.

I found out my guild no longer exists.

That’s not completely fair.  GuildFu tells me we have 233 members.  All I know is whenever I logged in, day or night, there was at most about 7 other guildies logged in; and I didn’t recognize any of them. 

Eventually, someone I knew logged in and I whispered them to ask what happened.  Seems that our guild leader left to start a serious raiding guild and most of the good players went with him.  Of course that starts a snowball effect with the end result being there is hardly anyone left other than alts. 

As far as the drama part?  You be the judge – it sounds like it was all above board and everyone was an adult about it, so that doesn’t sound very dramatic.  However, most of the level 70’s that are still around say it “came out of the blue” one day and were disappointed that our GL didn’t try to “fix” the guild versus start a new one.  Okay – maybe that counts as a little bit of drama, but probably a stretch.

Personally, I take this as a positive story.  Yea, no one likes to see their guild break up, but given all the crazy guild drama storiesyou read about, I’m kind of proud of my guild that we didn’t devolve into that kind of activity over the breakup.  It wasn’t caused by guild drama and it didn’t generate guild drama.  You won’t read about this kind of thing in the news or on WoW Insider, but there are mature people that play this game.

And I can’t say I blame our guild leader.  While I always felt I was part of a helpful, positive, fun guild, they were a bit lax about raiding.  The normal stuff – people not showing up on time, cancelling without notification, showing up not buffed or repaired, etc.  So I respect our guild leader’s decision to start a new guild that is more focused.  Should he have “fixed” our guild?  Who knows.  I don’t know about your guild, but in ours there was definitely a core of 15 to 20 raiders that were good, then another 20 or 30 wannabes.  Is it his responsibility to train those wannabes or focus on building something great with the folks that get it?  I don’t know there is a “right” answer to that question. 

One comment kind of caught me by surprise.  Both of the people I got my information from (one still in guild, one that moved to new guild), said something to the effect of “I think our guild just got too big.”  What does that mean?  Does the size of a guild have an impact on the seriousness brought to raiding?  I’d be interested in your thoughts on this one.

So where does that leave Amanna?  Well, I had been researching new guild for just this reason the last month or so.  If I was going to get back into playing, I knew I wouldn’t be playing every night anymore, so I wanted to maximize my playtime with folks that liked to have fun and help fellow guildies, but also approached raiding with some seriousness.   I used Jutsu to find guilds on my server that seemed to be at the same content progression as myself, and was checking out some of the guild recruitment ads on Guild Cafe.

Then yesterday I logged in and was talking to one of the people still in the guild that I knew.  She told me about the guild she transferred to (Return from the Edge) and told me to apply if I was interested.  I checked out their guild page and they sound like a good guild.  (If you’re on Eldre’Thalas and looking for a new guild, check them out).  Reasonable size at around 70 currently and focused on end-game content but dedicated to helping others and having fun.  Their current raid schedule is Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.  That may sound pretty disjointed to you, but it’s a perfect fit for me in that my committment to my spouse is to not play over the weekend. 

What really got me is their DKP system.  You can check out the math here, but basically you earn two kinds of points: Effort Points (EP) and Gear Points (GP).   Effort Points are awarded for things like showing up on time for a raid, downing a boss, agreeing to be a sub (AND staying online), etc.  Gear Points are awarded when you get gear during a run.  These two point totals then define a ratio called your Priority.  Priority = EP / GP.  Priority is then used as the determining factor of who gets a drop during a raid.  (EP and GP points are a running total and any point awarded drops off after 2 1/2 months).  So, the more effort you put out, the higher your priority in getting that next piece of gear you want.  Conversely, as you get more gear, your priority drops and players with less gear’s priority goes up.

I really like this scheme.  It appears to get away from one of the main problems with DKP in that the people that raid all the time have a huge bank of points to outbid more casual players.  Also, this guild has a rule that you are only allowed one Priority gear award per run, so they definitely focus on spreading the wealth around.  Combined with both points falling out of your total after a couple months, I think this is a pretty sane approach to loot distribution. 

Other “rules” and guidelines outlined on the site appeal to me too.  Things like cutting out the profanity in open channels, getting Effort Points for helping out lowbies, and remaining active in the guild.  If anyone is looking for some template guild guidelines, check these out – I like them.

Much of the functionality on the site is provided via a guild website solution, DKP System.com.  Their site isn’t real flashy, but very functional.  If you’re looking for a guild site solution, then take a look at these guys.

I haven’t applied yet (I logged last night with Resurrection Sickness, lol), but plan on soon.  Their Druid recruitment is currently closed, but I was told to mention that I was referred by the person I was talking to.  Either way – I’m on my way and hope to be in a fun, active guild and playing regularly again very soon.

Forms Bar

November 5, 2007 - Posted by | Raiding, World of Warcraft

3 Comments »

  1. Your link for their template guild guidelines is broken. 😦 But very good stuff! I have been looking around at DKP systems for my guild, since we just started working on 25 mans, and the one in that guild looks interesting for sure. 🙂

    Comment by Athryn | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. Link fixed. Thanks for pointing it out.

    Comment by Amanna | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Our guild uses EPGP, and it works really well.

    New raiders tend to go to the top of the list after nailing a few bosses (zero GPs, and have reached a minimum of 2000 EPs to claim a boss drop), however after claiming an item they move down towards the bottom of the EPGP list…

    The hardcore raiders tend to be around the upper-top, with lots of EPs, but also having claimed quite a bit of stuff the EP v GP ratio keeps them pretty balanced with casual players.

    It also means if you are really after an item, you have to prioritise… i’ve passed on all the epic leather healing gear in Kara and let them get disenchanted, so that i didn’t use EP points that i could potentially use to ensure i get Ilhoof’s staff, Prince’s T4 helm or Aran’s drape 🙂

    Comment by Taur | November 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

