Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Here we “grind” again…

Sunday night and all day I’ve been mulling over dropping mining for herbalism.  Maybe it’s just in what you’re looking for, but I only find ore every once in a while, but those damn weeds are all over the place.  Like they’re mocking me or something…

I hate the thought of levelling a profession again, but I really miss herbalism.  I don’t care what anyone says – I think it’s the best gathering profession there is. 

Drop mining?  Don’t drop mining??  Drop mining???  …

Forms Bar

November 11, 2007 - Posted by | World of Warcraft

11 Comments »

  1. Hehe – I’m going through exactly the same dilemna. I had 375 Herbalism and I stupidly dropped it for mining and am now 375 also. But I prefer herbalism and my wife’s character is an Alchemist so it ties in so well for raiding Flasks etc. So….my Alt is going to become the 375 herbalist now. I just couldn’t do it again on this character.

    Jsbach on Khaz’goroth.

    Comment by dfv | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Right now, Mining seems to be more profitable than herbalism (although my flower picker is a holy priest, so it’s not as easy for him as for others who are more hardy).

    On the other hand, as our guild progresses through Auchindoun and further, herbalism definitely is a huge plus (and of course others besides those in the guild, for the “overflow” herbs.

    Not much help, am I? However…sounds like herbs are where the heart is.

    Comment by Kestrel | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. It’s not so much an affinity thing Kestrel (although us Druids do like the flowers…), as it is a profit thing.

    Seems like on my server the upper end herbs are going for just as much as upper end ore, AND they seem to be easier to find and more abundant.

    When I switched to mining, everyone seemed to agree it was a good move, but I just haven’t seen a big improvement in cash flow.

    I didn’t switch last night, but I think it will be soon…

    Comment by Amanna | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. DON’T DROP Mining!!! Noooooooo

    Drop any profession below

    Enchanting
    Blacksmithing
    Tailoring
    Leatherworking
    Jewelcrafting

    But don’t drop a MoneyMaker! 😛

    Comment by Elistana | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Too late! 😉

    Already up to 100 on Herbalism.

    Mining just not a money maker for me. Not sure if it’s my server or just me, but I think Herbalism is a better fit.

    Comment by Amanna | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. I hope you saved all your Khorium and Felsteel for tomorrow… A LOT of engineers will be looking for those for their flying mount… could probably sell for much more than normal. 🙂

    Enjoy herbing Amanna. One profession I never did pick up on any of my toons, along with Alchemy. I am absolutely living JC, but almost all of the patterns I need have to be purchased off the AH for ridiculously high amounts of money. Good thing I have my epic mount on all three 70s and nothing else to spend my money on ;P

    Comment by Slipslappy | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Whenever I play a Herbalist, those minerals are all over the place. Whenever I play a miner, those damn weeds are all over the place.

    Comment by Shalkis | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Last night I dropped blacksmithing and trained for skinning.I figure maybe when I get to 70 and get some real money I’ll try to level up blacksmithing. I was just lucky my Blacksmithing was only 107. Way too expensive to level up.

    Comment by chris | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. It’s funny how it’s totally possible to spend all day thinking about WoW decisions. I’ve been sitting in a chair, staring at nothing for an hour and my wife will come ask me what I’m thinking about…

    “I think I’m going to re-spec my lock as affliction. I’ve been demonology for so long, but I think it’s time to do it.” The first few times she didn’t really know what to say to that 🙂

    Comment by Adrenis | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  10. When I had herbalism, I saw mining nodes everywhere. So I changed…hardly found any, but there were herb nodes everywhere! So I’m back to herbs…it’s just temptation by blizz to makes us farm more than we already do I swear…lol

    Comment by ladyjess | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  11. I dropped herbalism and alchemy recently for leatherworking/skinning… i wanted to make the epic chestpiece recipe that you get from Kara.

    And what happens next? 2.3 brings out badge reward chest piece and a drop from ZA that is better 😛 Not that i’m complaining that much… it wasn’t as hard as i thought it would be to level to 375 lw, and was actually fun going back through all the old areas! Also, i had a lot of the stuff i made disenchanted to useful dust or shards.

    But I have to agree with you Am, alchemy for me was a great money maker. The competition for herb nodes is no where near as competitive as it is for mining.

    Comment by Taur | November 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

