Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Monday night – that was fun!

Yes, switched to herbalism from mining.  Laughed a lot at the comments left on my previous post; especially ladyjess who said “When I had herbalism, I saw mining nodes everywhere. So I changed…hardly found any, but there were herb nodes everywhere! So I’m back to herbs…it’s just temptation by blizz to makes us farm more than we already do I swear…lol”

Certainly some truth there, but I levelled up to 100+ herbalism in just over an hour last night.  I started in the Night Elf starting zone of Teldrassil and it was like shooting fish in a barrel.  Got to level 70 or so in less than 40 minutes.  Herbs thick as, well, herbs all over Teldrassil.

From Teldrassil, I headed through Darnassus to visit the trainer, then flew to The Barrens.  I had seen on wowhead that Briarthorn was thick there.  Well, there is a decent amount of it, but a friendlier zone, with perhaps a better distribution of herbs (briarthorn and earthroot) is Westfall.  Picked in Westfall for a half hour or so to get up to around 115.  From Westfall I headed to The Wetlands and picked bruiseweed and wild steelbloom there until around 130.  Only took me another half hour or so there.  So all told a couple of hours to level herbalism to 130.  My recollection is it took a lot longer than that when I was levelling mining.

I’m using this herbalism levelling guide from TenTonHammer.  It’s fairly Horde-centric, but enough good suggestions that it’s a worthwhile guide.  As you can see from the guide, my next stop is Swamp of Sorrows which should take me over 200.  I’m happy with my switch.  Potions ingredients will always be in demand, whereas gear components decline over time.

I also saw in guild chat someone looking for a BM tank.  This intigued me as there are very few high levels left in my guild as I’ve mentioned before.  I had been looking to make a few low impact instance runs to get my paws wet again as I haven’t instanced/raided much over the last couple months.  Well, Black Morass is about as low impact as you can get in my opinion, so I jumped at the invite.

I won’t bore you with the details, but it was a good run and it definitely felt good to be swatting at big ugly monsters again.   No Hourglass of the Unraveller, but still fun.  We ended up disenchating all but one of the drops and my Large Prismatic Shard should be just enough to cover my repair bill for the run.

Forms Bar

November 13, 2007 - Posted by | Instances, World of Warcraft

2 Comments »

  1. oh I hate BM with a passion…lol! Nice job on the herbalism skilling up. I got to 375 in just a couple days of running around picking posies.

    Comment by ladyjess | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. I switched from skinning to herbalism at 70 to help with netherwing rep, and was able to level herbalism very quickly. If you’re picking herbs that are yellow or orange, you get a skill point with almost every herb, which is not the case with mining. Herbs are also easier to find in all but a few areas.

    I did notice that the +5 herbalism enchant recipe is no longer available, but the enchant still is if you can find someone with it. That’s a handy trick for being able to pick above your level, as well as make herbs that are below your level more likely to give you a skill point.

    On the netherwing ledge, the daily herbalism quest is the easiest way to get NW rep, along with motes of mana. Much easier than the mining or skinning quests.

    Comment by Armath | November 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

