Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Managing guild drama

The guild I’ve been thinking of joining has a website.  A while back I linked to their guild charter and rules, which I thought were very nicely done.  I haven’t applied yet, but I check out their website once in a while.  Their forum posts aren’t private, so checking out their posts is a good way to get a sense of what they’re all about and the personalities of guild members.

I recently saw this post by the Guild Master:

“I’ve been hearing a lot of complaints from different members. Some have been, “we aren’t progressing fast enough it’s these people’s fault!” Some have been, “These people only care about progression! If it doesn’t have to do with a raid they don’t want to help.”

This is going to end but I want to give everyone the opportunity to step and do their part. Something that is very hard for people is to admit they are wrong. No one wants to be wrong. So today I want you all to be wrong. I want you to admit and then to move on in a different direction. What exactly am I asking?

I want you all to blame yourself! Yup, don’t point the finger at anyone else for things you feel are going wrong or aren’t perfect. Find that place where you are personally responsible…and then fix it.

If you are a hardcore raider…change your view. Take this week, hell this month, and say, you know why we aren’t progressing? Because I’m too hardcore. I don’t take the time to play with my friends. All I talk about with people in guild or in-game is raiding. I don’t give people the incentive to WANT to raid with me because I bark at people or I have a tendancy to push people away because I’m blaming them for the guilds problems. I need to take a step back and just PLAY with people and have fun.

If you are a casual member…change your view. Take this week, hell this month, and say, you know why people only worry about progression? Because I’m too casual. I don’t take the time to prepare for raids I sign up for. All I tend to do is avoid raiding discussions. I don’t give people the incentive to WANT to do anything but raid with me because I’m not as committed as I could be or I could just come more prepared and willing to do what is needed when I do raid. I need to step back and be willing to raid.

Do these statements fit everyone? HELL NO! lol. But find yours. Find where you could really make a difference. Be it in taking time to NOT dwell on raiding when it’s going on or taking time and actually prepare for raiding more than an hour before the raid. Be it being willing to move outside your circle of friends and talk and work with others. Be it being willing to wipe here or there to give someone else a chance to be in your group in raid or in an instance. Whatever it is!

Reread the mission and find a way to uphold it. Even the parts you may be uncomfortable with. Our community is YOU. It will only be what you are willing to give. Each of you. Let’s take up the challenge and find our fault and fix it.”

The response by guild members to this quote?  Lot’s of posts directly responding to the GM with things that guild member will focus on doing to get better.  Several of the posters said they appreciated this post getting them back on track.  A few of the guild posters even acknowledged they were probably one of the members being called out and promised to get better.

The more I read about this guild the better I like it. 

Forms Bar

December 4, 2007 - Posted by | Raiding, World of Warcraft

5 Comments »

  1. Reminds me of a saying…

    Whenever you are pointing your finger at someone else you have three others pointing back at you.

    Comment by Og | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. That sounds very promising. We have an excellant guild leader in ours, and it sounds very much like him:)

    Comment by ladyjess | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Guild drama defused! Good for that GM. My guild is all friends-family-friends of friends. It makes for a lot more maturity and an easy way to “roshambo” any offenders. If you invited him, you deal him the swift kick. End of story.

    Outside of my situation, sounds like the guild you’re interested in has got their GM head on straight. Yay!

    Comment by Nim | December 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Nim. First time commentor if memory serves. Welcome.

    BTW – LOVE the Qbert socks. Let me know when I can order a pair…

    Comment by Amanna | December 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. Yes, indeedy. Longtime lurker. 🙂

    The Q-bert socks are just an idea right now, based on the quilt and that pic of the socks that just happen to have a ‘bertesque cube on it. I’ll post when they’re a reality, of course!

    Comment by Nim | December 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

