Adventures in Azeroth

It’s a Druid’s World (of Warcraft)

Stealthing Steamvaults – Second Kara Key Fragment

*** Please Note: My site has moved to nedruid.com.***   While I will keep this site running for a while, eventually it will be turned off.  Please update your bookmarks to point to the new site.  If you are the admin for a forum, board or website that links to this site or article(s) on this site, please consider updating your link(s).  Simply removing “wordpress” from the domain name should do the trick; i.e. nedruid.wordpress.com/post_url would become nedruid.com/post_url. 

I’m on my way to Shatt to turn in The Second and Third Fragments after soloing the second fragment in The Steamvaults.  It really wasn’t that hard and with decent gear you should be able to do it to.

The stealth to the Arcane Container was the easy part.  Once you enter the instance, you’ll turn right and head down a ramp.  At the bottom of the ramp are two Coilfang Warriors.  You’re going to be tempted to squeeze between them.  I didn’t try that and I’m guessing it’s suicide.  Instead, head to the left and prowl between the left hand wall and the lamp.  Stay glued to the left wall as you make a slight turn to the right to go behind the left hand warrior.  It will  hiss at you, but you’ll be fine.

Now, come up over the rise still hugging to the left.  You’ll be facing a room with all kinds of mobs.  Basically, you’re going to be staying towards the left hand side, splitting between the groups of mobs – walking through the water.  You’ve got to time three patrols – one of two Naga, and two other patrols of water elementals.  It’s really not that hard.

As you head forward on the left hand side, you’ll see you’re coming up to some bluish colored Naga at the entrance to a ramp.  You want to bear to the left of the entrance, go up and over the side of the ramp, and you’ll see a lake in front of you with some Naga hanging around to the left.  The Arcane Container is in that lake to the left.

Now here’s where the real strategy comes in.  I hate to admit it, but I died about 5 times trying to kill the Guardian to get the key. 

The first mistake I made was trying to fight him underwater.  Unless you’ve got some Nagrand Cherries still lurking around in your backpack, shifting to aquatic form and getting your breath back just takes too much time and you get beat on too much.  I had much better luck drawing the Guardian back to the ledge I jumped into the water from.

The second mistake I made was fighting in cat form.  I was thinking the damage would just burn him down quick.  Well it doesn’t – he’s an elite with decent hit points and in cat I was just taking too much damage. 

The third mistake was listening too much to the comments on Wowhead.  One poster pointed out the Guardian was a beast and so could be Hibernated.  They recommended switching to Caster gear, hibernating the Guardian and burning him down with Starfire.  Well, this guy must be a much better caster than me, cause that strategy sucked the worst for me.

No, I finally got the Guardian in Bear form.  I just swam underwater to get in range and drew him out with Faerie Fire.  I swam back to the ledge and fought him there.  You’re getting hit for around 700 damage a pop during this time, but not having to worry about breath is worth it.  Once I got to land, it was a no-brainer.  My rage built up pretty quick and I waited to see how quickly my health was going down to see if I needed to save it for a Frenzied Regeneration or not.  It wasn’t going down too bad, so I got a Mangle and 5 Lacerate in place before letting some more build back up.  I then popped a Frenzied Regen to get my health back up.  When it was done, I hit Enrage to get my rage back, and went back to my Mangle/Lacerate strategy, which took the Guardian down just fine.  Don’t forget to keep your Fairie Fire and Demoralizing Roars active at all time also.

So – grats to me on my key frag.  I flew to Shat and turned it in.  Now it’s Old Hillsbrad, then Black Morass, then Kara with my guild.  Something to do this weekend…

Forms Bar

May 23, 2007 - Posted by | Instances, Strategy - Feral, World of Warcraft

16 Comments »

  1. Congrats! Black Morass is really fun!

    Comment by Liraele | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Congrats. Black Morass with a “good” group is a lot of fun. Especially if you get to tank. I love swipe spamming on that fight. Nothing like infinte rage!

    Just one suggestion, if you do Black Morass bring at least 1 AoE or a player who can burn the adds down really fast. Hope you get your Hourglass of the Unraveller (best dps trinket) from the second boss, it took me 50+ runs to get mine. >.

    Comment by Bruennor | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. So, clear something up for me. Everything I read says you have to do Old Hillsbrad before BM. Will this be a guided sequence via quest directions, or should I just know to do Old Hillsbrad first?

    Comment by Amanna | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. Yes Amanna, Old Hillsbrad is a series of phases. You have to do Old Hillsbrad first before you can actually do Black Morass.

    Steps:
    1. Talk to the guys just outside CoT. They will take you on a tour. Takes like 15 minutes. Get Quest for Old Hillsbrad
    2. Do Old Hillsbrad. It consists of a series of phases.
    a. Burn the Prison Barracks
    b. Release Thrall and help him escape Durnholde
    c. Follow him to Tarren Mill and help him save Dalia ( unsure of the name)
    d. Get quest for Black Morass
    3. Kick butt in Black Morass.

    Thats the cliffnotes version.
    Bruennor

    Comment by Bruennor | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Nice guide – I just stealthed through and soloed in bear form without a hassle.

    One issue: I tried to hug the wall to the left of the first nagas, and got stuck between the vase and the wall. I had to get killed to get unstuck. However, you can crepp between the nagas without a problem.

    Comment by Andrew | May 26, 2007 | Reply

  6. Andrew – that’s weird about getting stuck. I went right through a number of times. The vase must be a little closer on your server. 😉

    Comment by Amanna | May 26, 2007 | Reply

  7. I stealthed through with no problems walking right through the center of the two naga at the beginning. Granted I also popped a stealth potion and I am a NE and had on The Master’s Treads, I was pretty much invisible to anything.

    The guardian was easy, I pulled him in bear form and just took my time killing him doing a bash, regen, lifeblooim in the middle.

    Comment by Ecanem | May 29, 2007 | Reply

  8. […] Amanna – Easily soloed by us Druids.  See my notes here. […]

    Pingback by Karazhan Attunement - Cliff Notes « Adventures in Azeroth | May 30, 2007 | Reply

  9. gratz dude… told ya it was soloable : P

    sounds like i had a much easier time with the hunter though!

    Comment by Kyle | June 1, 2007 | Reply

  10. Eh – If i’d have just stuck to bear like I usually do it would have only taken one try.

    Comment by Amanna | June 1, 2007 | Reply

  11. we all like stealthing when we can 🙂
    on the other hand if you’re feral druid you need exalted rep with cenarion so from this point of view it’s better to do any extra runs in SV and this key fragment is a good “reason” to get some friends in SV and get more rep points

    Comment by caprui | October 10, 2007 | Reply

  12. Going cat form by the vase at the entrance didn’t work. I got stuck, had to log back in and let the warrior beat on me to free me. Only then did I get unstuck and could run out of the instance just in time.

    You can easily stealth between the warriors.. and this is a balance druid with no special feral talent or stealth potions.

    Comment by Jimmy | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  13. Wow, fantastic notes – thank you! In hindsight, I should have gotten a group together for the CE rep, but it was nice to knock out this 2nd key fragment while waiting around for other stuff to happen. I died once on the way, when I got too close to a pather. But once I got to the container, I stuck in bear form and used the same strategy you did. I didn’t save quite enough rage for frenzied regeneration, so I had to burn a Bash / pot / Barkskin / healing and shift back into Bear form. I finished up the fight with about 20% health on the first try. Thanks again for the tips!

    Comment by Jeff | February 17, 2008 | Reply

  14. Great info! Solo’d it as feral spec. I didn’t swim back to the ledge. Fought it on the surface, bashed and got off a healing touch + rejuv then back to bear with a frenzied regen near the end for insurance. Lacerate and mangle bled him down quick! Never dropped below 20% health. 15K armor and 12K health in bear form, buffed and well-fed.

    Comment by ted williams | February 20, 2008 | Reply

  15. P.S. On the way out being flushed with success I decided to stealth between the guards. There was a bit of a grunt, but it didn’t break stealth.

    Comment by ted williams | February 20, 2008 | Reply

  16. walking past lamp didnt work got stuck an walking in between didnt work they saw me

    do you have to be lvl 70 for them not to see you im lvl 68

    Comment by druids rule | March 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment